We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explorer Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Room is clean and spacious, and location is excellent.
But what i want and value most in any motel is friendly and helpful service.
This certainly is true of our host at Explorer Motel.
Glad we stayed 2 nights.
Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank value-hunter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    60
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
82
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My Sister, Dad and I stayed here after driving from Queenstown to do the Milford Track. By far the cheapest place we found but not due to a lack of quality. The room was massiver, the manager was lovely and extremely helpful. If we'd been staying another night in Te Anau, definitely would stay here and will again in the future. Walked into the centre of town in under 5 minutes and is right near the waterfront. Great Choice of Motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The room was very clean and within walking distance of the town and the waterfront. The manager was very helpful and friendly, she even offered for us to borrow her kayak. Their new puppy was very cute & friendly! We were originally only going to stay one night, but we liked the place so much we ended up staying another night. Great gardens with BBQ facilities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - Yes many people book for one night and end up staying 2 or 3 with us! Te Anau is a great base for exploring Fiordland, we love sharing our beautiful region with people, happy to loan out the kayak and the puppy!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

This motel is one street away from the waterfront, its quiet, close to town and very clean. The owner is extremely helpful and very warm and welcoming. I am blown away by how clean everything is in the motel and specially the rooms. The room size is very generous and I would recommend people to first look at staying here even though they are use to staying in the bigger hotels. I think the attention to detail, cleanliness and the warmth is second to none. Greatly impressed. There is also a laundry on premises and free wi fi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjana_ranjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay - thank you for the lovely review, our spacious rooms are very popular - as they give people room to move, unpack and reorganise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

A reborn motel after being apparently killed by previous owners, this slightly older (not brand new) motel has a few creaks, but a lovely helpful owner who made our two night stay very pleasant. Apartments were modestly priced for holiday period and spacious. Free wi-fi always a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Located within walking distance of almost everything, this clean, comfortable and friendly hotel is a welcomed end to a long drive. We were welcomed with a cheerful smile, and plenty advice on what to do or see. We were made to feel right at home, and settled in to a good night sleep.
Free wifi was standard, as most North American travellers have come to expect. Formally a Comfort Inn, the standards you would expect are still there.
One block off the main waterfront street, where over priced accommodation exists, this hotel offers great value, for quiet comfortable rooms.
Why pay the high price, when the Explorer gives you everything they do.
Like it so much we stayed twice during our travels in NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Many thanks - it was a pleasure hosting you here in in our beautiful region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Richard and Isobel, Birmingham U.K. stayed 3 nights
We arrved early and were greeted by the new manager who was friendlyand helpful. Nothing was too difficult for herr to sort out for us. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable very handy to walk to town and shops and also down to the lake. We never used our hired car for the the whole time we stayed there We would certainly recomend this motel to friends and will use it again if we get the chance. The view from the room looked over the park to the distant mountains . Beautiful

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words - Am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Property: Explorer Motel & Apartments
Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing