We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explorer Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great service -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed one night -arrived early in the morning on the way to Milford sound,
Mum needed a downstairs room, no problems organizing this. - service was excellent, rooms fantastic size for two people. Thank you Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    60
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
82
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We arrived (4 adults) on spec after a long drive, offered a discount as it was low season by a very pleasant and helpful host and personally shown to our room. It was fairly basic and yet to be updated but clean, spacious and warm. Reccommendations for a good meal (Chinese was fab) and directions for a short pleasant walk to town were appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kthom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

When we first drove in to the parking lot we thought we may have made a mistake. The motel looked quite dated and the green carpet on the exterior entry walks is tacky. We discovered that the place had been closed and new ownership was in the process of upgrading. Our room was clean, spacious and fully equipped. The location was good due to a pleasant pathway leading to the main street. It is off the main roads so it is quiet. We felt it provided a lot for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper end room so you get some view and have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The property is a little dated but the rooms are about twice the size of normal rooms and there is space to spread out your junk. It is in a quiet part of Te Anua, but not too far from the main street. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night. Very comfortable & clean. Great and helpful staff. The rooms are big and well equipt. We have already been in several places in New Zealand and this one was one of the best ones we have stayed in.
It is Highly recommended for couples and families as it has really big rooms :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YosiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Fine hospitality and all the host's tips were great. Room clean, spacious and comfortable and the setting is quiet but within easy walking distance of main street. Go with recommendations for Chinese restaurant (roast duck is yummo, pak choi first class) and breakfast spot (bakery) serving excellent bacon and eggs. My "value" assessment based on reduced offer - shoulder season. Free Wi-Fi worked well. I stayed an extra night rather than head off elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doistayorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Absolutely loved this motel!!! The room was super clean, warm and spacious with everything needed to make this a really comfortable stay. The new owner MJ was extremely friendly and full of knowledge on the area and had some great suggestions on keeping the little one busy.... Extremely affordable and value for money. I cant wait till we can come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Property: Explorer Motel & Apartments
Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing