We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were blown away by the size of our 2 bedroom unit! Loved the fact that we had our own outdoors picnic table which looked out across the law to lovely shrubbery and trees, it felt really private yet we were a stones throw and easy walking distance from the town centre AND the lakeshore.
The owner could not have been more friendly and accommodating, when she found out we had a 5 yr old girl in our group she offered up a box of toys and videos which were gratefully received. Also there was a trampoline and swingset...
There were notes in the motel guide book explaining that the entire place was in the the process of being modernised and to please offer up suggestions and also to please let them know if things weren't working which we did. As far as things not working/ We had a dodgy element on the cooktop but that was about it!
VERY enjoyable stay and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Manager at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - I''m glad you enjoyed your stay - and liked my new picnic tables outside. I have now replaced the faulty hotplate in the room with a nice new ceramic hob so future guest will not be affected by this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    65
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
57
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A lovely place to stay. Highly recommended, very good value. Close to town centre (walking distance), large room(s), good facilities, and extemely friendly and helpful proprietor. An excellent base for a day trip to Milford Sound, which we did, very we;ll worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squiggle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Manager at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - all our rooms here are very spacious - which is great especially if you are staying for a few days - you get a chance to repack and reorganise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very good stay for 2 nights with a local trip tour to Milford Sound on recommendation from owners. Good local knowledge of local facilities and eateries. Nice short walk into town for dinner and collect a few supplies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ M, Manager at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review - Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are in the ideal position - just 3 minutes walk across the park to the town centre, many of our guest enjoy the fact that Te Anau is a lovely peaceful town especially after the busyness of Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Good value in Te Anau! Internet was limited which was common in NZ. We would recommend this hotel. The room had a nice kitchenette with a small refrigerator that was adequate to store our breakfast food.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Explorer Motel whilst visiting Milford Sound and were pleased with our accommodation. Considering that this motel was standing empty 16 months ago the new owners have done wonders with it but have still a little way to go as some aspects of the infrastructure are a little tired. That said our room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with a view of the mountains from the veranda. The service was friendly and speedy giving us a welcome base from which to discover 'Fjord-Land'. The position in Te Anau is ideal with a short walk through the park to the shops and 'Pub'. Thanks again and we would recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a fine place to stay. We booked for a couple of nights in a spacious, comfortable and clean suite with all facilities. MJ, the charming and affable manager, was a great help in choosing the best suited locally-based tour for our trip to Milford Sound (Fiordland Private Tours which was excellent). Although the motel is not directly on the Lake or in the middle of town, both are just a short stroll away.

Would certainly and unequivocally recommend this motel for anyone travelling to Te Anau.

Room Tip: We had Room 8 which was essentially a large, first floor suite with cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Te anau whilst visiting the Fjords. This motel is not lake view but it is well located with a short walk to town. The apartment was spacious, exceptionally well maintained and clean. It had everything we needed. The staff were great, always happy and helpful. It is very good value and has everything you need for a restful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Property: Explorer Motel & Apartments
Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing