We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top quality takeaway curry, always fresh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SolGeo's Indian Takeaway - CLOSED

SolGeo's Indian Takeaway
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SOLGEO'S is an exciting and vibrant Indian takeaway located in a tourist destination - "Te Anau" inside Mobil Petrol Station owned and operated by Solly and George. The mission of SOLGEO'S is to serve the community with its authentic style of Indian food from various parts of India and to provide the best of Indian taste and experience. All meals are made from scratch, on site, no additives, no preservatives and Gluten free with Halal meat assurance. We invite you with open heart and warm welcome to fresh, mesmerizing and healthy Indian Takeaway.
Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
“top quality takeaway curry, always fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Wicked curries, simple, no nonsense takeaway curry with rice, reasonably priced, also the owners are super friendly, they made me a special mango lassi, mind blowing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    6
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian Takaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We picked up dinner from SolGeo's to take back to our hotel and loved it! Solly and George were very friendly. Entrees are reasonably priced and the quantity and quality of the food is excellent. This is a unique and much needed dining option in Te Anau!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy dhoklas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Solgeo seems to be a very popular indian takeaway at te anau.I did not order the usual dinner fare,which must have been good considering he was all out of it by 9 pm. However,I must mention that if the couple can make such fluffy yummy dhoklas ,they DO know how to cook. The place is run from a petrol pump point but hygiene standards seem to be very well maintained. They do have a varied interesting menu beyond the usual curries.
Don't give it a miss when you are in te anau.
just get there early

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anoo_in_wanderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
79 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unexpected Indian Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in Te Anau for a night on our drive from Q-Town to Milford and were looking for Indian food joints. We checked at the reception of the hotel where we stayed and they pointed us to Solgeo's Indian Takeaway at the Mobil Gas station. We went there to tank up in the morning to stock up provisions at the departmental store, met the couple George and Solly who runs it, ordered rice, vegetable curries and Dal Makhni for the dinner as we would be back by 7 PM. They called us around 6 PM to say it was ready, we had one of the most yummy foods in NZ that night at our hotel Luxmore, was one of the best ones in our 21 day tour. We immediately rang them up for the next day's breakfast as we were driving to Invercargill and wanted more of the tasty food.

Next day morning, they nicely packed up Boiled Eggs, Uppmas and Vadas, Chutney, onions and sauce to go with it, that smelled soooooooo good! We were forced to open up the breakfast pack early around Lumsden, the aroma was filling the car up and opening up gastric taps! The SolGeo breakfast was one of the beast open-air ones we had in a while on the long winding end-to-end drive and were raring for Indian taste. If we compare to Auckland, Q-Town, Duneden which were all proper pricey restaurants, this was a big value for money, though a take away. We rate this high in terms of taste, speed of service, personalization, reachable and touch-ability (we could shake hands with both the owners across the counter) :) .

The taste was authentic Indian, we ordered medium spicy, they titrated it to medium, I am sure they would make it the way you want. The food was clean, tasty, the couple were very friendly, the price OK for NZ standards and a find for Indian tourist looking for homely taste. Though they do not offer sit-down service as the takeaway is inside a departmental store, it's surely worth a try for anyone looking a change. We have told many friends traveling to NZ since then about the place, one couple went there in February, were happy we pointed them to the right place.

--Arkz
=====

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very delicious infisn food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very friendly owner and delicious indian food!
Highly recommended!
Had mango chicken curry - mmmmhhhh

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SolGeo's Indian Takeaway also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing