We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hosts”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were travelling around the South Island NZ so when we arrived in Fiordland we stayed for 3 nights at Bella Vista Te Anau. What a great decision because you are not travelling the extra distance from Queenstown when exploring Milford or Doughtful Sound.Janelle & Selby,our hosts at Bella Vista made our stay one of the most enjoyable of our holiday. The muffins on arrival were a lovely surprise and the friendly help with information on the area was very useful.Each day we were greated with a warm smile ,any extra advice on where to eat (great meals at The Ranch) or any more information on the history of the area....just great!!!!The room was comfortable and extremely clean. We found Bella Vista Motels to be well priced when travelling throughout NZ so we would happily stay again. We can doubley recommend Bella Vista Te Anau because of the exceptional service of Janelle & Selby. Thanks again Janette & Graham Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbgbabjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear reviewer,
Janelle and I are pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay in Te Anau. Te Anau is the gateway to Milford and Doubtful Sounds, which is a great place to stay and explore our area from here. Many of our guests wished they had arranged their stay for longer, as they hadn't realised there is so much to do and see from Te Anau, hopefully you will return another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    167
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
309
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights around a day trip to Milford Sound, so that we could spend the day exploring the area comfortably without having to drive all the way to Queenstown. Te Anau was an easy 2 hour drive from Queenstown. Milford was also about 2 hours away, but we made many stops along the way to enjoy the many beautiful sites along the way. Highly recommend staying in Te Anau rather than Queenstown for trips to the Sound. Small town, but with plenty of options for food and provisioning up for your day trips.

Selby and Janelle were very charming. They gave great recommendations about the restaurants in Te Anau (Grabbed a hearty sunday roast meal at The Ranch, and had a great dinner at The Fat Duck as well). We spent about an hour chatting with them at the end of our day.

The muffins were no lie - delicious chocolate banana muffins that we gobbled up happily.

Can't recommend this place highly enough. Besides the top notch service, the rooms were comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear mchueh,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and your thoughts of the surrounding area.
We hear your comments so often from our guests about staying in Te Anau rather than staying in Queenstown. We are the 'True Gateway' to Fiordland and all it has to offer, in fact the 'Front Doorstep' to Fiordland. The main reason for staying in Te Anau as opposed to Queenstown is we are 2 hours closer for a start off, we have excellent accomodation and lots of top rated restaurants. The 'Locals' are passionate about Te Anau and Fiordland and love to share that passion with our local and overseas guests.
Janelle and I are happy you enjoyed your stay and experienced a little of what our area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This place is an absolute gem and Selby and Janelle were brilliant hosts. They were so helpful with everything, visits, meals, travel advice and so on, and were such friendly and warm hosts. Good fun too with a lovely sense of humour. We were so pleased to have found such a great couple. If you are looking for a place to stay to explore the whole of that region, including Doubtful Sound (amazing and beautiful) then THIS IS. The place to stay. Top marks in every department.

Room Tip: All are very good and represent excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear oztrip2012
Thankyou for your kind words, Janelle and I strive to make everyones stay with us the highlight of their trip. Living in Te Anau is such a great place and to be able to share parts of it with our guests is a true honour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Selby and Janelle made us feel so welcome in Te Anau and provided not only great accommodation, but delicious muffins and lots of useful advice about the area....of which they are justifiably proud. They arranged for us to travel to Milford Sound with Southern Discoveries - Go Milford. We would have been happy to take our hire car but were unaware of the need to carry snow chains between May and the end of November, when travelling on the Milford Sound route from Te Anau. This is a legal requirement and checks do take place, including requesting drivers to demonstrate their ability to actually fit the snow chains! Although the coach trip was aound £100 for two a meal was included and we were able to relax and take in the views, as well as listening to an informative commentary.....so....great advice, Selby...thank you!
The Bella Vista Motels we stayed in were all of a comfortable standard. We would happily book this chain again and have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thankyou for your review, the road to Milford Sound can sometimes be challanging to motorists who have not had experience in driving in mountainous winter conditions. The weather can change so quickly on the alpine pass that it is sometimes easier to sit back, relax, enjoy the view, listen to the drivers commentary and take the coach to Milford Sound.
The Bella Vista chain prides itself on its consistant excellent quality of accomodation thoughout it's 28 locations in New Zealand.
Janelle and I are proud to have been your host and shared in your recent holiday to Te Anau and Fiordland and we appreciate your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We discovered The Bella Vista line of motels early in our journey, and stayed in many on the South Island. They were all great but Te Anue's was the best.We were welcolmed in the morning(no waiting for afternoon check-in) and handed 2 warm muffins straight out of the oven,yummy! Nothing was too much trouble for them, including: organizing our trip to Doubtful Sound, recommending meals in town and ensuring our heater was on when we returned, so we were toasty warm. We felt as if we were in our home, except the views were much better!

Room Tip: Our room had views of snow on the mountain while lying in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank-you for staying with us, with 28 Bella Vista's all around New Zealand its great to hear you thought we are the best, your thoughts are appreciated. As always, it is our pleasure to help with your decisions such as where to eat out and what activites to see and do as we are so lucky in this special part of New Zealand to have magic scenery, exciting activities and great restaurants oh and good weather too!
We hope the rest of your holiday was just as enjoyable as here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

what a warm welcome, 22 visitors and bikes arriving in pouring rain to book out all units. Shelter offered for bikes, hangers for wet gear, warm units and home-made muffins. Could not have asked for anything more. fabulous. oh... not to mention a dry ride round to the Moose. fabulous hospitality. well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear reviewer
Thank-you for your comments, it was great to meet all of you and we pleased you all appreciated a good nights stay.
Hope to see you all again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

It was the best welcome at any motel on our trip!!.....such a nice couple with the most delicious homemade muffins as a warm welcome present!!.....wow!
nice motel, clean and close distance from town. The recommendation for the restaurants were great!.....we have beautiful memories of Te Anau thanks to the Couple at Bella Vista motel!
Sincerely.
Angela Saldarriaga

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Angela S
It is our pleasure to ensure your stay with us is a memorable one. We are so lucky in Te Anau to have so many excellent restaurants, in fact, Te Anau has so much to offer the traveller that we are often told by our guests that they would have liked to stay longer if we had known more about Te Anau before they came. Do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing