We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little motel”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The motel is set in lovely gardens and only a stones throw from the lake. It is the perfect place to stay in order to visit the glow-worm caves and Doubtful Sound. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean spacious and well provided with facilities. Breakfast is brought to you the night before and placed in your fridge for the morning. This is a good idea for an early start, which you need if you are visiting Doubtful Sound. This is a must if you are staying in Te Annau, as are the glow worm caves, but take plenty of insect repellent for the sandflies.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Paul P,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and everything met with your approval. We are fortunate with our location that everything is within easy walking distance. We encourage our guests to stay in Te Anau if they are thinking of travelling to Milford and Doubtful Sounds as we are the closest town to these areas and with our local knowledge we are able to give you some great tips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon on a very rainy day to be greeted by the motelier and warm muffins - must be a South Island tradition!.
He is very knowledgable about the area, good recommendations about the attractions in the area.
The trip to the Milford Sounds was definitely the highlight - picked up at the door!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear SteffAuckland,
It was our pleasure to be your host and to receive your positive review is our reward. We are all very passionate about our little slice of paradise here in Te Anau and love to share it with those who appreciate the good things in life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon to be welcomed by the lovely couple who gave us not only the keys to the room but also freshly baked muffins and milk for tea. Very kind and delicious.
The family room housed us all quite well and our children enjoyed the playground, the nearby park and the lakeside. Apart from the lack of bella vistas (just a walk away) and the noise from the courtyard, I cannot fault this excellent motel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChubbyHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear ChubbyHubby,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend to others. It's the positive feedback that we enjoy and makes our job so much easier. We are so handy to everything here which means you can leave your car in the carpark and walk to town only 2 minutes. However I do apologise for any noise coming from our carpark and as this is our festive season and it is still daylight until 10.30 pm in the summer, this is sometimes hard to control. We are sorry for any disturbance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a very clean, quiet and friendly motel in the heart of Te Anau. The hosts are great and make you feel very welcome.
The rooms are simple but all you need. Most of your days will be spent outside enjoying the scenery.
I am very happy to recommend this motel.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room that I could park the bike outside. It was shaded and in 29c heat, that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Dear reviewer,
It is our endeavour to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay with us and everything meets with your satisfaction. We gain our reward from positive reviews such as yours. It was our pleasure to be your host and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We traveled 2 families around South Island of New Zealand when my brother & his family came to visit us during Christmas holiday. We booked 2 rooms, a family room (room 13) & a double one (room 8). Both were really lovely. You can't find anything wrong with them! It's really clean, everything is spotless & shiny. We arrived a little bit too early for check-in but the owners were very helpful in recommending places to stop on our way to Milford Sound. And later when we were back form our Milford Sound cruise, we were greeted with their big smiles & yummy freshly-baked muffins for each one of us (even for the 3 year olds!). We loved the free Wifi too ;)
Both owners are really friendly & lovely.
We would certainly stay there again next time we visit Te Anau

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusyMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Dear susyms,
Thank you for your kind words about the service you received and our complex. It is our desire to ensure everyones' stay with us is a most memorable one. Janelle, myself and the rest of the team all work towards our guests comfort and it is great to receive such appreciative feedback.
Thank-you. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The motel was clean and very well-appointed, very convenient and nice overlook to the park. We felt very welcomed by the lovely hosts who were particularly helpful in giving timely advice for our journey. We also recommend Te Anau... it's beautiful, there are tons of day-walks by the lake or under mountains, very good variety of restaurants, great little theatre, fishing and boating options and nice escape from the Queenstown intensity.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 716Karen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank-you for your review on our motel complex and the surrounding area. As you are aware there is plenty to do in Te Anau and best of all, at a relaxed and peaceful pace. It pleases Janelle and I that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was my first road trip of New Zealand (Nov 2012) and I spent a couple of nights at Bella Vista. The room was standard, but cosy and immaculate. It's far enough from the noise of traffic but walking distance to shops and restaurants. The experience was made unforgettable by Janelle and Selby who welcomed me with smiles and warmth and made it feel like home.

This place is not the gateway to paradise, this IS paradise and it's the best base camp for the natural beauty and breathtaking views of the mountains and lakes in this superb area.

Thank you again Janelle and Selby for your amazing hospitality! Wish you very happy holidays and all the best in the new year !!!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Paul B,
Thank-you for your kind remarks, they are appreciated by us both. We too enjoy meeting people from all around the world and sharing with one another our experiences. You are right, Te Anau is 'paradise' and we are so lucky to even live here and share it with those who appreciate it.
We look forward to perhaps your return another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing