We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
282
182
53
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
182
53
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilford soundtown centrequeen studioshort walkon arrivalnew zealandglow worm cavesquiet locationthe main streetour night staygreat accommodationrestaurants and shopsfree wifitwo nightsspa batha great place to stayreal journeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Room very clean and tidy. Location very central. Hosts very helpful and a nice touch providing fresh muffins on arrival. Only 1 tiny soap for 2 people for 2 days is not enough. Just as well I had more myself. Price is at the higher end for a unit of this type.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear reviewer,
Your feedback is important and we do take note of our guests comments. We will ensure an extra soap is available at all times in our rooms as well as the liquid soap in the dispenser.
We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Location was great, short walk to restaurants etc. But for the price, we had much better accomodation in many other towns in NZ. Main problem was the very small room, nowhere to put 2 suitcases so we didn't trip over them in the night. Much is made of the warm muffins on arrival, but I'd rather have better room facilities (eg only 1 small bar of soap for 2 people for 2 nights, not replaced when the room was serviced, had to go and ask for a second). "Free WiFi" turned out to be a measly 50MB per day, we don't use it a lot but still used our 2 nights allocation on the first night, none left the second day. Very nice town, but not great accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank-you for your comments,
We have many sizes of rooms with different tariffs to suit our guests needs and budgets. If you have more luggage than the average traveler or have an extended stay I would suggest booking a larger room. I have noted your concern regarding the soap, we provide our guests the choice of either the cake of soap or liquid soap, both are available in your en-suite and of course if you run out we are happy to replace them.
Thank-you, once again for your comments, guest feedback is very important so we can provide the very best of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Our family of 4 stayed upstairs in two connecting rooms. The motel was quiet, clean, and a very good location. It was perfect for what we needed. We even cooked dinner in the room one night, which worked out well. The only negative for eating was that we had just a small table with two chairs, so two of us sat there, and the other two sat at the desk and on the bed. This was not a super big deal for us. Although seeming somewhat reluctant to do so, the owner kept our luggage in the office when we arrived early, and let us keep it in the garage until we left later in the day, which we appreciate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Travelmagic,
thank-you for your kind review. We are always available to attend to our guests requirements and we are happy to store guests belongings while you are away on activities.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

There are not that many options in Te Anau and Bella Vista is a reasonable choice. Rooms are on the small side (if you were so inclined you could wash the dishes in the kitchen sink while kneeling on the bed!) but very clean, with comfortable beds and hot showers. Electric blanket to warm the bed on cold nights and home made muffins at check in are a nice touch. Wifi is free but daily limit is quite low.

Short walk to town centre - don't miss Redcliff Restaurant for dinner (reservations a must).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Catsabroad
Thank-you for your comments. The Bella Vista group has many types of rooms and sizes available to our guests which suits all types of travellers and budgets. We are always available to assist in your choice of rooms and recommend a room most suited to your needs and budget if requested.
I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our many excellent restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were greeted by Janelle & Selby as though we were family, and right away we felt at ease with them. The fresh baked muffins had nothing to do with this.... honest....lol....delicious. .Nothing was to much bother for them, and Selby helped us out tremendously with organizing our trips so we got the most out of our visit. The room was very comfortable,very clean and well equipped.We stayed in room 18 and had no problems with noise etc as stated in 'bognor' review, but then again we stayed there last November. We enjoyed the stay so much, that instead of the original 2 night stay we had planned we ended up staying 4 nights. Watch out Janelle and Selby.... we poms are back again this year, can't wait to see you both again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Hi Happy Campers,
It was great to meet you and be your hosts while staying in our part of 'Paradise'. We endeavour to make our guests stay a memorable one. Janelle and I are happy to spend time with our guests and assist with travel arrangements and activities. We are proud of Te Anau and many of our guests stay extra nights as there is so much to see and do while here.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews