We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Anau Love Affair”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Te Anau Love Affair”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013. I wanted a quieter holiday than what Queenstown could offer and that's exactly what I got. Very hospitable service. The welcome muffin was fabulous as per the other reviews :) Janelle and Selby are great and ever so accommodating. Anything I needed - recommendations, an adapter, information, etc. they provided no questions asked. It was nice of them to check in with me to see what activities I had planned for the day so they could turn the heater on before I returned and also as a solo female traveler it was nice to have someone know my whereabouts.

The room was comfortable and they even gave me a free upgrade considering I was staying for a while. Everything is a short walk down the road or across the park- the lake, the main street, grocery store, etc. Te Anau in general is an amazing place with the most humble residents. I will definitely be coming back here- hopefully sooner than later! Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: The website is a great tool and very descriptive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenthebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear jenthebeat,
Thank-you for your review on your recent stay with us. As always it is indeed our pleasure to make sure your stay with us and our region meets with your expectations. As Kiwi hosts we are ever so mindful that many of our guests are travelling to NZ for their first time and we want to make sure your experience is one that you will remember for always, even if it is just the small things. Your acknowledgement of our efforts are appreciated by ourslves and the rest of the team at Bella Vista Te Anau.
Safe travels and a speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    165
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
308
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thank you Janelle and Selby for a great five night stay with all the comforts of home. Truly fantastic old school Kiwi charm and hospitality. Nice touch to have the room preheated after long days out and about. Regards Aaron.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Aaron M
Thank-you for your comments, we appreciate them. It was great to meet you and host you while you were staying in Te Anau. We look forward to perhaps another visit.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Bella Vista in Te Anau is a great place to stay. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable with all the usual NZ motel amenities, and it's convenient to Te Anau's lovely lake and shopping/restaurant area. You can get food and supplies within a five-minute walk, and the lakeshore is about two minutes away on foot. RealJourneys shuttles will pick you up the motel lot on request.

My wife and I stayed in one of the studio units. We found it a bit cramped, but that's to be expected with a studio. If you like having lots of room to stretch, go with one of the bigger rooms.

Oh, and one more thing- they have some of the best muffins I've ever eaten. I'm not joking here- I have eaten literally thousands of muffins in my life. I love the things. The muffins we got when we checked in were truly top-notch- moist and delicious with just the right amount of chocolate chip. Seriously, if you like sweet baked goods, the muffins alone are sufficient reason to choose the Bella Vista over its competitors.

I have one complaint- only one- about the Bella Vista. It lacks a lake view. That's it, that's the only problem. If you're willing to walk for two minutes or so, you'll be right at the the lake- but you can't see it from your room, and that's a bit of a shame. It's a small complaint, but there it is.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Brent D,
Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we certainly appreciate your comments. Janelles muffins are certainly becoming world famous.
We would love to be able to offer our guests a lake view, but fortunately we have a beauitful park as our view with amazing native bird song each day. We are however in a very quiet street very close to the town centre.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope you will return another day.
King regards
Selby and Janelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gero
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Doubtful Sound and were not disappointed. Janelle and Selby made us welcome and were very helpful in recommendations for various restaurants and attractions.
The motel is situated close to all amenities that Te Anau offers in the town whilst remaining quiet for your stay.
Must mention the banana and choc muffin on arrival, it was welcomed after skiing all day the the drive down to Te Anau. As was the room preheated, as we didn't arrive until late.
Many thanks again for our stay and I can certainly recommend Bella Vista to anyone trvelling to Te Anau.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yibbayibbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi yibbayibbada,
It was great to meet you and have the opportunity to share with you some of the great parts around Te Anau. Doubtful Sound is one of our many favourites and it is always good to hear other peoples comments about our beautiful fiords. We hope you will return another time and enjoy some of the other things to do and see while staying in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Well I never write reviews however I have on this occasion. The managers of BELLA VISTA At Te Anau (Janelle and Selby Askin) were so friendly and helpful ... Janelke booked my Glow Worm Cave Tour and the tour with Go Milford to Milford sounds ... Clean rooms and a special touch when I found my heater had been turned on for my late return both evenings ... Check out Te Anau as there are nice places to eat and enough to keep you busy :)) will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumnock2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Cumnock2867,
Thank-you for making a special effort to review your recent stay with us. We are truly appreciative of all the reviews we receive from our guests. Janelle and I enjoy meeting new and old guests and part of that is making sure their stay with us is a happy one. During the winter and colder temperatures, we always make sure the heaters are on for our guests to return to a nice warm room, your acknowledgement of the little things like that makes it all worth while. Thank-you.
Best wishes and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have stayed at this Bella Vista once before with a group of friends and decided to go back this time just hubby and me. Wow, we were greeted and treated like old friends,( and of course we got one of the world famous muffins ) and they remembered us. We were so very touched. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant or relaxing stay. The rooms were of course top notch, so peaceful, beautifully decorated, and comfy. We only stayed for a couple of days, but so which it was way longer. We will definitely be back. Thank you so so much Selby & Janelle, just what we needed. You guys are awesome and of course the new addition, Knuckles :)

Room Tip: We have stayed in a couple of different rooms and they have both been awesome, and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Paula F
Well what a great surprise it was to see you both return. As always it is indeed our pleasure to host such appreciative guests.
Our new Burmese kitten 'Knuckles' is a great addition to the property and loves to greet our guests personally for his mandatory pat and cuddle.
We look forward to perhaps another visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Te Anau is a lovely place to be based for a few days. The location of the Bella Vista Motel in relation to the various facilities in the town is handy whilst remaining very quiet.
We had a wonderful road trip to and from Milford Sound, with lots of snow conditions around the Homer Tunnel. The road was well gritted by the local maintenance crews so no real problems where in countered.
Fantastic views and photo opportunities abound so allow plenty of time for the drive down and back (at least 2.5 hours each way just to be able to stop every so often to take in the views) to Milford.
Don't try and do it as a day trip from Queenstown as you will not do the trip justice and will miss out on spending time in Te Anau itself.
The level of friendly service provided by the locals was just spot on! Not over the top, just good old fashioned service with a genuine smile.
This was very much on display at the Bella Vista Motel Te Anau. The attention to detail and advice given by the hosts, Janelle and Selby was just great. Not to forget the muffins on arrival!
Thanks for the wonderful memories.
Christine & Andrew McKinnon
Newcastle, Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Andrew M,
Thank-you for your detailed review of your recent stay in Te Anau, I'm sure many people as well as ourselves appreciate your comments and advice on Te Anau, our facilities and the surrounding district. It is, as always our privilege to share with others our special part of New Zealand in which we live.
It is great that you had the time to spend and chat with the locals as we are all proud of the area in which we live.
We do hope you return for another visit, perhaps in the summer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing