We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it - felt so valued and welcomed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it - felt so valued and welcomed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault accommodation - or welcome. Selby and Janelle were most welcoming and full of info about Te Anau and the surrounding area. Nothing was too much trouble - just a shame they are having to move on!
Couldn't fault room or facilities, had everything we needed and room was serviced every day.
The location is one block back from the lake, this is a minor detail, it's a very flat and quiet walk to the centre, took us less than five minutes.
Would definitely recommend Belle Vista Te Anau.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Maggie W,
Janelle and I will leave these motels with a saddened heart, as we have hosted so many great and interesting people from all around the world.
We have tried to make our guests visit here in Te Anau the highlight of the holidays and hope they enjoy Te Anau and Fiordland as much as we do.
We are proud of this area which is unique in the world and must be retained for future generations.
We hope your travels are full of happy memories and may you return another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    156
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
297
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were in NZ recently and decided to stay at Bella Vista Motel while on the way to Milford Sound. We found the premises clean and well equipped. We were late arriving check in time was prior to 8pm. As you can image a stranger in a strange land driving a rental after a day of sightseeing tired and in need of a shower we were surprised to find reception closed at 9.30. However we did get checked in and got some great advice on things to see and ignore on our way to Milford.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi JoeO
Our reception hours are from 8am to 8pm but we are only too happy to arrange checkins outside these times where possible to accommodate our guests requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in Nov 2013 between different excursions. Clean, quiet, well kept modern units in the nice little town of Te Anau. Friendly staff. Only reason I did not give it a 5 was is that the location is not right on the lake (block away), but the price is good for a very high quality motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BcNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear BcNomad,
Thank-you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here at Bella Vista Te Anau do a great job in ensuring we meet our guests requirements. We hope you return another time to further explore Te Anau and Fiordland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the second Bella Vista motel we've stayed at in NZ and we're totally satisfied once again on all fronts. These accommodations are not glamorous but are perfectly functional and very pleasant to stay in. This motel ticks all the boxes - clean, everything works perfectly, great location, great helpful service, generous wifi, cozy and comfortable ambience, great value. Very satisfied indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBCC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi JBCC1979,
The Bella Vista chain is a great way to stay with while in New Zealand with its unique standard of accommodation no matter where you are.
We at Te Anau Bella Vista pride ourselves as trying to be the best within the chain and your reviews are always appreciated so as to help us maintain our high standard.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

You can believe the great reviews on this place. My husband and I were there in September, 2013. Wonderful caretakers, super clean and warm rooms. Altogether caring and friendly staff. Terrific muffins! Great advice on where to go and where to eat. Beautiful town and area. Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound are beautiful beyond words. The Doubtful Sound overnight trip was amazing -- beautiful, and peaceful. Bella Vista is close to town and the Lake.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Classiccartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear classiccartraveler,
Thank-you for your review on you recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to have been your host whilst staying with us. May you have many fond memories to take with you. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was the only motel we did not book in advance of our journey to and round New Zealand, as we changed our plans, so took "pot luck" guided by other reviewers. We stayed in a "King" studio on the ground floor. The only thing that was King-sized about it was the bed. The room was just big enough to accommodate the bed, a small table, the usual "desk" area, a wardrobe and another work surface. There was a fridge and apparently a cooker top that pulled out from under one of the surfaces, but we were not shown this and did not discover it. The bathroom was small but bright, with a window and toiletries

It is the smallest room we have ever stayed in and the most expensive in New Zealand. This is the second very bad experience we have had in Te Anau and Te Anau is the only town out of two dozen or so we have stayed in in NZ where we have had poor rooms with high prices.

Room Tip: The "King" studios are tiny, I dread to think what the Queen or Queen Plus studios are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear reviewer,
As is my policy to reply out of courtesy to all our reviewers, I have pondered over your comments on our complex and the many other experiences you have had and this saddens me that you have not always enjoyed the hospitality that has been extended to you. Your comments are noted and while they are your valued opinion, they are clearly 'out of step' with the majority of our reviewers and the many other reviewers of other establishments.
As moteliers we enjoy the contact we have with our guests and it is paramont to us that your experience is a pleasurable one, clearly we and many others have not meet your expectations and I apologise for this.
Your comments on the size of our rooms and facilities are subjective and as we have many types and sizes of rooms we do our best to suggest the type of room that meets our guests budget and needs for their stay. With very few exceptions most would consider our King units as more than adequate for a one nights stay. Our hotplates are in the kitchen cupboard where all our guests have managed to find them if they are required.
I make no apology for your budget constraints as you were quoted our tariff upon visiting our motel and then returned some time later to confirm your booking. We are what would be considered as average price for Te Anau and considered by the majority of trip adviser reviewers as one of the top rated motels in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bella Vista in Te Anau in October 2013. Instead of taking a bus trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound, we decided to stay in the small town of Te Anau, which is only 1.5-2 hrs away from Milford. Upon arrival, Selby & Janelle greeted us with friendly smiles, fresh muffins (which were delicious!), and helped take our luggage up to our room. The next day we had a Milford Sound cruise booked and unfortunately the weather was really bad, so our tour was cancelled. My wife and I personally called around to other travel companies in the area to try and book but they were cancelled as well, and when we asked about Doubtful Sound tours that same day, they indicated that they were booked. We went down to the front desk that morning and talked to Selby and Janelle and they were able to book us on the Doubtful Sound cruise. Our day had been saved - we couldn't believe it! They were so kind and helpful and we appreciated it so much. Without them, this part of our trip would have been ruined. The rooms at Bella Vista were small, cozy, and inexpensive, and it is a short walk into town as well as to Lake Te Anau. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel or the owners. Highly recommend them to anyone who plans to stay in Te Anau... and hopefully my wife and I will have another opportunity to go back and visit :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Chris P,
Janelle and I are so pleased to have been part of your holiday in Te Anau, and happy we were able to 'pull a few strings' and arrange a tour of Doubtful Sound. This is a special part of fiordland and a favourite of ours and missing out on visiting these areas would have been unfortunate.
We genuinely hope you are able to return for another visit as there is so much to see and experience in our little slice of paradise we call Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing