We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Motel Room, and plenty of restaurants close by” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Motel Room, and plenty of restaurants close by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are an older couple, travelling around NZ in January 2014 and have stayed in many motels. Really enjoyed our stay here. The motel room was excellent and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from close by. Very helpful staff. Would recommmend. E & D, England, UK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RY3V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your nice response and we hope we can welcome you back to Te Anau in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    157
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
299
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The rooms are very clean and although small, inviting. Owners were pleasant and helpful; they just recently took over management and are working on updating all the rooms even more (like with more kitchen amenities in every room, etc., though the basic facilities like the bathroom etc are very uptodate and I have no complaints about the decor, etc.). Had a good 1-night stay at this quiet property and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for staying at Bella Vista and your kind remarks about the decor. We like to keep up the standard and there is always some maintenance to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for two nights and it wasnt long enough. Te Anau is beautiful and there are lots of trips available. Motel has just been acquired by a lovely couple who could not be more helpful. We were upgraded to a one bedroom family unit from a studio and it was great. Lots of room and full kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you here and we would love to welcome you back perhaps for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at this motel which we found to have a very comfortable and all the amenities that one could expect. The restaurants and shops were located within easy walking distance and the laundry facilities were spot on, and the owners couldn't do enough to help. Their cheeky dog also made a good host!
We would certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We would love to welcome you back some time in the future. The manager (cheeky dog) is getting cheekier by the day and loves the attention. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days taking real journeys Milford sound and doubtful sound (overnight). Great hosts, John and Trisha, who had just taken over this motel in January. within a 5 min walk to downtown and the restaurants. See other recommendations. Very clean, comfortable, great hosts, guest laundry as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us Stewart. We have settled in very well and it is a pleasure meeting people like you and makes the job very enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent location for a couple of nights or more, very short walk to restaurants and shopping area. We went to Doubtful sound from here and was ideal, picked up and dropped of by Real Journeys coach. Rooms are quiet, roomy and everything you need is in the room. Bed is comfy and nice linen, towels fluffy and large. Rooms very clean. Windows have one way film so no one can look in if curtains are open.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Choice of upstairs or downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you Kenty. The windows are so much better than net curtains. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a day trip to Milford Sound squeezed in between. Excellent location a few minutes walk from the towns main street. Plenty of restaurants and shops for such a small place, more than I expected. Room was smallish but modern with a spacious bathroom. Top marks for cleanliness, not a blemish anywhere. Bed on the firm side but I slept very well. Wi-Fi worked reliably and was free of charge with plenty of megabytes included. Would definitely stay again, maybe on my visit to Doubtful Sound...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Would love to see you again when you do Doubtful Sound. Perhaps we could accommodate you in a larger room next time as we have a range of sizes available. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing