We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Bella Vista Motel. Motel was very central and within walking distance to the town centre. We received a nice warm welcome and the owners were very helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and clean but very small and the "kitchen area" could be improved. There was no sink to wash dishes (had to use the bathroom basin) and this was difficult to get the jug under the tap, however the heating in the bathroom and bedroom was good and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. The compact rooms do not have kitchenettes as our more spacious rooms do hence no sink. We wash the dishes from these rooms daily and don't expect the guests to do these in the sink. We acknowledge the taps are unsuitable for filling jugs in these rooms and intend replacing these with more suitable taps. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel was dead central for everything. The staff that ran the hotel were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They recommended an amazing pie shop in the centre which is world famous for homemade pies. Very reasonably priced too. This is where stayed to do Glow worm caves and also Milford Sound (Milford sound is over a 2 hour drive)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good. Although it would have been nice to have had a bit more space to do breakfast...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed the pie shop. The compact rooms are small rooms as described and the majority of people in those rooms eat out at the many restaurants in town. Our larger rooms are more suitable for eating in. We are intending to put TV's on wall brackets to create more bench space in these rooms. Hope to see you again sometime Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Contrary to most of the reviews posted here, we didn't have a very nice stay at The Bella Vista. First of all, the owner was very cold and unfriendly both during our chekin and checkout timings. She was quite rude when we were late for checkout by not more than 15 mins. One expects better hospitality and especially for the rates they charge.
Also, the rooms are very very small. I would never go back to Bella Vista.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunigagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Please accept our apologies for the actions of the Temporary Manager who was looking after the motel until we bought the business in the middle of January. It is a shame you have waited until now to file your report as it is the new owners who suffer the consequences. You would have noticed that the reviews made since your stay have been excellent and we intend to keep running the motels in this manner. We have never objected to a late check out and never will. The rates charged by us are an average rate for Te Anau and are not excessive for this area especially in the peak season.
We have a good range of rooms at Bella Vista ranging from Compact Queen rooms (compact meaning small, similar to a hotel style room) to 2 bedroom suites and are all priced according to size and furnishings, with the compact rooms being the cheapest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights well positioned to walk to town, a few minutes away and lakefront also. Nice room, clean, but needs better layout if you want to eat in. Nice greeting , given milk, map and info on area from Warwick. Think they need more outside seating areas for the upstairs apartments. Trish kindly finished drying our clothes form previous day ad left nicely folded in our room, many thanks. They have recently taken over this establishment and we wish them well. Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend!

Room Tip: Room 12 is above the laundry which may be a problem during the day.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Bella Vista. As we mentioned we are upgrading a lot of our rooms and room 12 will have a table and chairs added. We are limited for outside space upstairs to add more seating but we do have some lovely areas downstairs for sitting. Room 12 does have outside seating. The laundry doesn't seem pose a problem during the day for noise and is closed at night.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on our journey across the South Island. Very nice room which was very spacious and clean. The complex was very quiet and was in close proximity to the Lake as well as downtown shops and restaurants. Owners were very helpful with advise on things to see and do. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Bella Vista. It was a pleasure to give you advice on what to see and do around Te Anau and would love to welcome you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

There is not much to choose from in the small town of Te Anau as far as lodging, without spending large sums. We were unable to find a B&B, so we opted for Bella Vista. Although it was clean, the bed was not very comfortable, and there was limited room in the bath for toiletries. Without air conditioning, it was quite damp because it is so near to the lake. It is very convenient to the central area, though, with an easy walk to anything in town. There is also plenty of convenient parking. No lifts, so ask for a ground floor room if you don't relish toting your luggage up stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZgirl4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. There is a good mix of lodging in Te Anau and the prices are not high for an area as magnificent as this. Fortunately the vast majority of our guests find our beds very comfortable and comment specifically on this. The vanity tops are adequate for toiletries remembering that most people are only here for a day or two. Most motels in NZ don't have or require air conditioning and Bella Vista motel is a very dry and warm motel with opening windows and heating. We are unsure what you found damp and can only assume it was a wet day. Most of our guests request upstairs rooms and we are only too happy to carry their bags upstairs for them if required. Lifts are very uncommon in motels in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying two nights here. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The bonus was a spa bath in our room. A great way to relax after a few hectic days. Our hosts provided us with good information of local attractions and restaurants. Free wi fi was an added extra. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your response. It is always a pleasure to know when someone has enjoyed their stay and we thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 23 in Te Anau
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing