We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Bella Vista on our way to Milford Sound and it was a great choice. There was a new owner that was very nice and helpful. We were walking distance to a nice park and to town, close to the lake where we hiked part of the Keplar Trek that day. Although this is a chain hotel, this one met our needs and was very well taken care of. Dishes, soaps, teas provided. All was great - we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, room was quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    171
    44
    9
    8
See reviews for
77
314
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at Bella Vista enroute to Milford Sound. It was the perfect stopover. The manager was very helpful on arrival allocating us a ground floor room and directing us to a walkway to access the local shops/restaurants. Unfortunately I was not able to access the wi fi from my room. The room was equipped as a small kichenette with bar fridge. Would recommend .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am not sure of the reason for not being able to access the free Wi-Fi as the motel property is a designated hotspot and should be available anywhere on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Bella Vista Motel. Motel was very central and within walking distance to the town centre. We received a nice warm welcome and the owners were very helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and clean but very small and the "kitchen area" could be improved. There was no sink to wash dishes (had to use the bathroom basin) and this was difficult to get the jug under the tap, however the heating in the bathroom and bedroom was good and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. The compact rooms do not have kitchenettes as our more spacious rooms do hence no sink. We wash the dishes from these rooms daily and don't expect the guests to do these in the sink. We acknowledge the taps are unsuitable for filling jugs in these rooms and intend replacing these with more suitable taps. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel was dead central for everything. The staff that ran the hotel were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They recommended an amazing pie shop in the centre which is world famous for homemade pies. Very reasonably priced too. This is where stayed to do Glow worm caves and also Milford Sound (Milford sound is over a 2 hour drive)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good. Although it would have been nice to have had a bit more space to do breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed the pie shop. The compact rooms are small rooms as described and the majority of people in those rooms eat out at the many restaurants in town. Our larger rooms are more suitable for eating in. We are intending to put TV's on wall brackets to create more bench space in these rooms. Hope to see you again sometime Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Contrary to most of the reviews posted here, we didn't have a very nice stay at The Bella Vista. First of all, the owner was very cold and unfriendly both during our chekin and checkout timings. She was quite rude when we were late for checkout by not more than 15 mins. One expects better hospitality and especially for the rates they charge.
Also, the rooms are very very small. I would never go back to Bella Vista.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunigagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Please accept our apologies for the actions of the Temporary Manager who was looking after the motel until we bought the business in the middle of January. It is a shame you have waited until now to file your report as it is the new owners who suffer the consequences. You would have noticed that the reviews made since your stay have been excellent and we intend to keep running the motels in this manner. We have never objected to a late check out and never will. The rates charged by us are an average rate for Te Anau and are not excessive for this area especially in the peak season.
We have a good range of rooms at Bella Vista ranging from Compact Queen rooms (compact meaning small, similar to a hotel style room) to 2 bedroom suites and are all priced according to size and furnishings, with the compact rooms being the cheapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights well positioned to walk to town, a few minutes away and lakefront also. Nice room, clean, but needs better layout if you want to eat in. Nice greeting , given milk, map and info on area from Warwick. Think they need more outside seating areas for the upstairs apartments. Trish kindly finished drying our clothes form previous day ad left nicely folded in our room, many thanks. They have recently taken over this establishment and we wish them well. Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend!

Room Tip: Room 12 is above the laundry which may be a problem during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for staying at Bella Vista. As we mentioned we are upgrading a lot of our rooms and room 12 will have a table and chairs added. We are limited for outside space upstairs to add more seating but we do have some lovely areas downstairs for sitting. Room 12 does have outside seating. The laundry doesn't seem pose a problem during the day for noise and is closed at night.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on our journey across the South Island. Very nice room which was very spacious and clean. The complex was very quiet and was in close proximity to the Lake as well as downtown shops and restaurants. Owners were very helpful with advise on things to see and do. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Bella Vista. It was a pleasure to give you advice on what to see and do around Te Anau and would love to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing