We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in one of the new units which was great and had a huge opening glass door to the most amazing views - lots of places (not just NZ) don't take full advantage of their aspects. The rest of the park seemed to be really well set out and with many different levels of space/accomodation. We have stayed a few different places in Te Anau and this was the best situation as it was still handy to town, DOC and bus depot. I believe however that these people are perhaps relying a little to heavily on their geographic position. We arrived tired (in our mid sixties and having just walked the Keppler Track) and not really knowing what level of accomodation we wanted. We were confronted by "well here's the list, that's what we offer, what do you you want!" We weren't quibbling about price and in the end chose the dearest available but we would have like less efficiency but more kindness. I also found their signage around the park (laundry, toilets etc) quite officious. I'm sure the same message could be given in a softer tone. Perhaps the management could add "gracious" into the requirements for staff! I'm sure other perhaps less tired, younger people may not have been so offended but for $250 a night an offer of milk for our room and perhaps an offer at least of help with our packs etc to the unit at the other end of the park would have been appreciated!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    270
    93
    26
    23
See reviews for
221
279
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our family of five stayed in the Marakura room for 3 nights. The rooms are new and pleasantly furnished. We liked the huge glass doors that provided excellent and unblocked views of the lake just across the road. Overall a good place to stay for a few days. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom family room. The unit was comfortable and quiet and the views were fantastic. The pathways around the park site and along the lake foreshore make for easy walking in all weather conditions. We only stayed a couple of nights, but found that we were close enough to restaurants, walking and shops that we didn't need to use the car.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeardoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed in the new Marakura Motel - 2 bed room unit for 6 of us. Rooms are new and clean, but maybe a little bit small for 6 persons. Nevertheless, we just stayed for a night, so it is acceptable.

Location wise, not exactly in town, but a short 5 mins drive away. Unit located across the road opposite of Lake Te Anau.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helped me with all my travel plans. The bathrooms were big and clean. The rooms were clean, too. The drawbacks to this place are that the bathrooms require a walk outside and are in a separate building from all the dorms. It's also a far walk to the town center, although that makes it closer to the start of the Kepler track. The price was very good, too. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park is in a great locations as it is only about a 10 minute walk from the town. you can also walk along the shore of the lake if you want a short stroll or they can advise you on longer treks.
we stayed in one of the brand new Marakura Family Roomsand it was superb. The view from the panoramic living rooms windows on to the lake, changed by the hour. The rooms are well presented and clean. we think were were the first to use the cooker! The kitchen has everything you need, but is a bit compact & bijou and too many cooks get in one anothers way!
We loved the Lakeview, the staff were extremely helpful, they arranged our trips for us before we arrived, which maximised the things were could see/do in the short time we were with them. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: The Marakura Rooms are just lovely. They have amazing views, are well equipped and modern. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retromobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed an extra night as we felt very comfortable here. Everything is modern and clean, the kitchen area is well equipped and above all, the price is very reasonable when compared to many of the parks around NZ.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing