We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good studio motel unit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good studio motel unit”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We initially booked for two nights to do the Milford Sound trip but decided that we liked Te Anau and the holiday park and stayed an extra night to do the Glow worm cave trip.
We booked a queen studio unit since we like the convenience of an en-suite bathroom and kitchenette and looking at the size of the small A-frame chalets we are too old for shared facilities!

In an email responding to our booking we were offered a choice of a unit with spa bath or wet-floor shower and we replied that we preferred that we would like the spa bath. On arrival we were told no spa units were currently available but if we came back in an hour one should be cleaned and ready so we went into town and had a cup of hot chocolate. On returning we were given our key but on looking around the unit it was quickly apparent there was no spa bath. Reception had made a mistake and didn't actually have any spa units free that night so instead they gave us free use of the communal Sauna and spa (not worth the usual $10 charge), we moved to a spa bath unit for the following two days.

Both units we used were spacious, comfortable and well equipped, they overlooked an attractive lawn with flower beds and a rose covered BBQ gazebo and a lake view. The units weren't wheelchair accessible but only had a couple of small steps which was not a problem for my wife. There is a bus garage on the site but the bus movements didn't disturb us at all.

There is free internet available but limited to an hour per day per device, speed was not too bad during the day but slowed to an unusable crawl during the evening, there is an alternative wireless network available but you have to pay for usage.

Laundry facilities are available in several blocks but some have driers that did a poor job at $4 a load whilst others have driers that did a much better job and can be fed in $1 increments

Room Tip: studio motels very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    273
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
225
287
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new units. Amazing views and lovely room.

But a/c kept timing out and turning off (not much fun in 30 degree heat) and the answer when we checked out was "Oh yeah, when the batteries start to die on one of the remotes they all stop working"

Batteries were also missing from one of the tv remotes.

Beautiful place, beautiful view, annoying details letting it down.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauloc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We were disappointed that the air conditioning appeared not to perform on one of the hottest days of the year, and that the Staff response was hardly helpful and in fact incorrect. As for the TV remote, on occasion we find that batteries are taken from remotes for customers personal use and agree this annoying.
Thank you for your feedback, and we shall discuss the points you have raised with Staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stopped here for a night each side of doing the Kepler track.

The place is well kept and nicely laid out with views over the lake. I stayed in one of the small single rooms in one of the lodge wings - with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. I cant remember the exact room price but was very reasonable for a single room ( $40 or so ??).

the shared kitchen and bathroom facilties are modern, clean and well maintained - good hot showers after a 3 day hike :).

the staff were very helpful - and I could book the shuttle bus to the track at the office.

The single room was basic, but quite comfortable with all you need for a short visit.

One tip : it is quite easy to accidentally lock yourself out of your room ( which I did ) - if you keep a window ajar ( lodge is ground floor) - u can climb back in without calling out the onsite manager in the middle of the night like I did .. they were quite prompt to let me back in with a key :)

I would recommend this place to anyone after a good value, modern and clean budget place to stay with easy access to the Kepler track / Te Anau town centre.

Room Tip: single rooms in the backpackers style wings are great - you get complete privacy at a good price ( s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DN164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a very modern studio unit. The facilities were excellent and the views from the balcony across the lake to the mountains beyond were just amazing.
Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
These new units had been cleverly designed such there was car parking on the same level as the rooms for both the ground and first floors, so no lugging cases up stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Had a nice powered site although it was a little bit short for our long campervan (7.6 m) and not even so we were facing downwards a little bit. Facitilies are ok, but have seen better ones in terms of maintenance and current standard. Staff was nice and the campground has a good playground for kids. This is a great starting point for the Kepler walk, for Milford Sound or just to relax. Think IAC Wifi was available as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdickgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

very friendly reception people, large motel room with all u need ie micro Hob nice shower all kitchenware and the lake view in top (-;
Very much recommended !!!
Had great time here for two nights. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were travelling by camper van so slept in that, as for travelling by camper van, the holiday park had lots of space and areas to choose from - the best we'd stayed in whilst in New Zealand. The facilities were perfect for our needs - a kitchen, showers and toilet blocks which were all very clean. Very nice staff that gave us lots of things we could do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing