We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and location are supurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Manakura Motel,
Views and facilities are superbIts new, it’s got everything you need to cater for yourselves and views to die for (providing the weather plays ball! & even when there’s a mist over the mountains it just adds to the mystery, follow that with the rainbows and who needs wall to wall sun anyway?) Set at one end of the lake uninterrupted views over the most magnificent view (forget the road in front of you, not enough traffic to worry you). Paul Carberry at New Zealand in Depth you’ve done it again!!
Open the patio window and keep on opening its got a triple door so two-thirds can be fresh air and your own balcony or patio (depending on floor) superb beds/s and loads of cooking utensils plates etc. if you want to self-cater or just make a jug of fresh coffee it’s all there.
Good shower, not a power shower but lashings of hot water, plenty of space in main room & bathroom and access to car parks on both floors so a disabled room on the 1st floor with a great view is also very possible.
It’s set in a caravan, trailer, tent, backpack, self-catering and various levels of Motel park, but the Manakuna motel is well away from road or other guests noise & interaction so a very peaceful night.
Unless you need a phone in your room it has absolutely everything including hi speed Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thankyou for your fantastic feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Marakura.
You describe it well and the views are great whether it is stormy or sunny. Recently there have been some awesome rainbows which are well photographed by guests in the Park.
Enjoy your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place has everything including being the base for one of the popular bus lines. It was clean, beautifully situated, quiet, and filled with friendly people from all over the world. The staff were extremely helpful. It was just a short walk to the National Park office where Great Walks transportation begins. The only negative was the limited and marginal wifi service. i had to go sit right under the antenna to get it to work. I'd suggest providing more picnic tables for campsites.

Room Tip: Campsites and small bunk houses available as well as more upscale motel rooms. Kitchen facilities o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMilford_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thankyou for your feedback. We will hopefully have more picnic tables for next season. Enjoy your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a small cabin with two single beds at this hotel. The room was well equipped with a kitchen and plenty of utensils. The beds were comfortable enough. Location was great and staff was extremely friendly, Even though the hotel is not in the city center, driving and walking to restaurants was extremely easy. The only downside to this hotel, and any hotel really that has a kitchen, was the lingering odor of cooked food. Property was very nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauelipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thankyou for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The rooms are opened to get rid of food odours, but as you say some strong cooking tends to linger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We initially booked for two nights to do the Milford Sound trip but decided that we liked Te Anau and the holiday park and stayed an extra night to do the Glow worm cave trip.
We booked a queen studio unit since we like the convenience of an en-suite bathroom and kitchenette and looking at the size of the small A-frame chalets we are too old for shared facilities!

In an email responding to our booking we were offered a choice of a unit with spa bath or wet-floor shower and we replied that we preferred that we would like the spa bath. On arrival we were told no spa units were currently available but if we came back in an hour one should be cleaned and ready so we went into town and had a cup of hot chocolate. On returning we were given our key but on looking around the unit it was quickly apparent there was no spa bath. Reception had made a mistake and didn't actually have any spa units free that night so instead they gave us free use of the communal Sauna and spa (not worth the usual $10 charge), we moved to a spa bath unit for the following two days.

Both units we used were spacious, comfortable and well equipped, they overlooked an attractive lawn with flower beds and a rose covered BBQ gazebo and a lake view. The units weren't wheelchair accessible but only had a couple of small steps which was not a problem for my wife. There is a bus garage on the site but the bus movements didn't disturb us at all.

There is free internet available but limited to an hour per day per device, speed was not too bad during the day but slowed to an unusable crawl during the evening, there is an alternative wireless network available but you have to pay for usage.

Laundry facilities are available in several blocks but some have driers that did a poor job at $4 a load whilst others have driers that did a much better job and can be fed in $1 increments

Room Tip: studio motels very good
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the new units. Amazing views and lovely room.

But a/c kept timing out and turning off (not much fun in 30 degree heat) and the answer when we checked out was "Oh yeah, when the batteries start to die on one of the remotes they all stop working"

Batteries were also missing from one of the tv remotes.

Beautiful place, beautiful view, annoying details letting it down.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauloc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We were disappointed that the air conditioning appeared not to perform on one of the hottest days of the year, and that the Staff response was hardly helpful and in fact incorrect. As for the TV remote, on occasion we find that batteries are taken from remotes for customers personal use and agree this annoying.
Thank you for your feedback, and we shall discuss the points you have raised with Staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stopped here for a night each side of doing the Kepler track.

The place is well kept and nicely laid out with views over the lake. I stayed in one of the small single rooms in one of the lodge wings - with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. I cant remember the exact room price but was very reasonable for a single room ( $40 or so ??).

the shared kitchen and bathroom facilties are modern, clean and well maintained - good hot showers after a 3 day hike :).

the staff were very helpful - and I could book the shuttle bus to the track at the office.

The single room was basic, but quite comfortable with all you need for a short visit.

One tip : it is quite easy to accidentally lock yourself out of your room ( which I did ) - if you keep a window ajar ( lodge is ground floor) - u can climb back in without calling out the onsite manager in the middle of the night like I did .. they were quite prompt to let me back in with a key :)

I would recommend this place to anyone after a good value, modern and clean budget place to stay with easy access to the Kepler track / Te Anau town centre.

Room Tip: single rooms in the backpackers style wings are great - you get complete privacy at a good price ( s...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DN164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a very modern studio unit. The facilities were excellent and the views from the balcony across the lake to the mountains beyond were just amazing.
Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
These new units had been cleverly designed such there was car parking on the same level as the rooms for both the ground and first floors, so no lugging cases up stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing