We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy & nice outlook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location by the lake. We had a kitchen cabin and it was very roomy - a bit of a hike to use the facilities & a torch is a MUST as there is no lighting at all & it got very dark from about 6pm. Also the ladies was large, which is great, but the light switch only worked on one side of the block so you need a torch to walk through to the other side to get any lighting in there. As one of the other reviewers mentioned the cleaners seem to have an unusual schedule - the ladies were closed for cleaning when we went to use them at 6pm.
I think it would have been a much better experience if we had booked ensuite accommodation due to how inconvenient it was to use any of the facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us. The facilities are usually cleaned between mid day and 4pm when most guests are away sightseeing or yet to check in. I believe on a couple of occasions recently because of the workload, that the facility cleaning was not completed until quite late in the day which is not what we aim for. Some areas of the Park have sensor lighting that is activated when movement is detected and there is also outside street lighting on time switches that illuminates as darkness falls. We routinely check that this is all functioning as it should .We appreciate your comments and will definitely check the points raised in your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a very large camp and this shows. The reception staff shovel you through and off with your map you go.
The facilities were not the cleanest- and the camp was not any where near full- the mens toilets stank, the showers were averagely clean.
the grounds and paths etc were well set out and good size sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbsteraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for two nights. The room was everything we hoped for, the bathroom was terrific, the bed very comfortable, nice linen, good pillows and a good area for eating or to use as a desk. Wi Fi was included. Good shelving in the bathroom, great parking right outside the covered walkway. The view of the lake is superb, we just couldn't stop taking pictures of sunrise and sunset. The road is below but traffic noise was non existent.

The place is huge, spread out and has caravans, tents, campervans, groups of different style accommodation but ours was the newest and very nicely presented. Worth the extra. There are laundries onsite as is the case with all caravan parks, communal, and unfortunately not everyone staying takes care of them as Management would like. From memory there were 2 washing machines taking coins, both broken down but after a quick talk with the caretaker, one of them was back working in minutes.

Tours to Milford leave from here as do the Doubtful Sound ones from an office next door. The reception area is well staffed and they are very helpful, warm and friendly. They even ordered a take away for us one night and there was a bit of a delay in it arriving to the office, so when I walked up to find out, I was driven back to the unit so it wouldn't get cold. That's service for you.

One thing to make note of though is there are two places called the same thing, this one is Lakeview KIWI, remember that part. When in the township, go see the movie at the Fiordland Cinema, Ata Whenau, fabulous and you can buy the DVD to take home. Definitely would stay again in the Marakura studios. Also you fill find that buying the continental breakfast packages is quite expensive in NZ.

Room Tip: If you want something a bit more stylish and luxurious and new, stay in the Marakura Deluxe Studios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lakeview Kiwi Holiday Park. We aim to provide everything guests require on our site overlooking the lake and mountains, and are pleased you enjoyed this along with the help and assistance of the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This holiday park has a variety of accommodation from backpacker shared rooms to cabins to campervan plug-ins to campsites. We stayed in a twin room in the backpackers.

The holiday park is located directly across the street from the National Park visitor’s center and Lake Te Anau. It is a 10 minute walk along the lake to the center of town. This is also the bus stop for Tracknet bus. If you are tramping using Tracknet for transport to/from any trailheads this is the place to stay. Just select the type of accommodation you want.

The backpacker area of the park has 2 buildings. 1 building is the sleeping building. There are about 15 rooms of various sizes/# of beds. The communal toilets/showers were very clean. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors and any activity in the hallway. I did notice that most people seem to be staying 1 night on their way to a tour or trek.

The second building is where the TV room, kitchen, dining area and laundry facilities. They were adequate.

If you find this review helpful, I would appreciate a helpful vote. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the Backpackers accommodation to your liking and hope you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose this park, as it had large sites. We have a 30ft van, and they let us use two sites at no extra cost. We stayed 3 nights, we used the showers, toilets, laundry & clothes line. Everything was clean & tidy. The office staff extremly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are fortunate to have lovely large sites to cater for the bigger vans as you indicate. The staff enjoy advising people of local attractions and I agree are very helpful and friendly to our guests. Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We asked for a lake view pitch and that is what we got, amazing sunset over the lake. Despite being just off the main road very tranquil. The facilities were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely position for walk along lake into town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank river_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feed back of our property after your recent stay. We are pleased that everything met with your approval and that you enjoyed our wonderful setting by the Lake.
Our staff make every attempt to give our guests all the information they require to make their stay with us a great one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed in campervan in the park for couple of nights and was pleased with the amenities and how peaceful the area was. The park is clean and the amenities are relatively new and clean as well. Top spot if you were roughing it out for few previous nights.
Within a walking distance to the lake and the Te Anau shops, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities provided.
Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £32 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing