We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view -- shopworn motel rooms and "out of order" amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Beautiful view -- shopworn motel rooms and "out of order" amenities”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and courteous. We reserved a room with a view directly to the lake. We got it, but the staff shortly thereafter directed someone with a huge pickup truck towing a long travel trailer to park in such a way that it blocked the lake view for the entire row of rooms where we were. The problem was solved after a friendly chat with the front desk, but it should never have happened. Washing clothes became a huge headache. The machine died mid-cycle; the other machine in that area was out of order, so we ended up hiking to another clothes washing area with baskets of dripping wet, half-washed clothes. The rooms were essentially clean, but everything is showing its age.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are pleased that you found the Staff friendly and courteous and that they sorted the problem with the thoughtless parking arrangements of another guest.
Machines do break down from time to time and we are fortunate to have 3 other washing and drying areas available in the Park whilst repairs are made.
Last winter the units you stayed in received a repaint exterior and interior,new kitchen hob, new carpet, new sofa, joinery and beds. We will continue with upgrade of bathrooms, (3 are completed)
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    274
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
228
289
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiayi, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the motel cabin in July. It's near the lake and has a fantastic view of Lake Te Anau. The view was so enjoyable that we fell in love with the place right away after we checked in. The staff was also friendly and the facilities were also good. I'll definitely choose this holiday park again if I have a chance to visit Te Anau again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank wsp6335575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the fantastic Lake and mountain views. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was driving here with campervan and reached there around noon, requested the staff to help me book a scenic coach and cruise tour the next day. The staff was helping me out pleasantly with the booking and other questions.

The park is just a short walk to Lake Te Anau. Facilities are good as well! Definitely recommended for all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for you review.
We are pleased that you found the Staff helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed over Christmas. Wasn't overly crowded. Basic kitchen facilities in the cabins, with shared showers. All facilities were clean. The cabins were roomy enough for a family. Nice grassed areas to chill a bit, resting from all the driving :) Great location opposite the lake, handy also to visit the sounds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree we have a superb location and from here we can help guests choose various sightseeing alternatives in our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's hard to write an objective review for it because I got upgraded into a single room what made it a nice stay for me. But I guess it is still 4 stars worth compared to other camp grounds. They try to improve and upgrade the camp ground. It's not one of those which are once build and never improved. That's was impressed me. What ever. It's not to be compared with my other ratings of hostels and hotels please. I rated it for being a camp ground.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Three of us stayed in a bunkroom in the Luxmore building with shared bathroom and kitchen facilities, which were really great. Sheets, blankets, and pillows were provided but towels were extra. The weather was pretty cold when we were there but our little heater warmed our room nicely. The bathrooms were pretty chilly because the windows stayed open. The kitchen facilities were really nice, with multiple stations around the large space, each including a range and sink. The dishes and utensils were mostly sufficient for all stations to be in use, though you often needed to take something from the drying rack of clean dishes. There weren't any baking pans for the small oven, though. It's an easy walk to the visitor's centre and wildlife sanctuary, a bit farther into town but doable. All in all, it felt like 2 nights for the price of 1!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to supply feedback. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived quite late at night and the reception staff were welcoming and helpful. The park is well spaced out and roomy and has a great view of Lake Te Anau. The facilities are excellent - clean and modern showers (with hairdryer), toilets, kitchen, bbq and loungeroom/eating area. There is also a spa and sauna (free, unlike Top 10 Queenstown where they charge you $15+) which we didn't use as we hadn't packed swimmers but would have been nice to warm up from the cold! Only negative I would say would be the hotplates in the kitchen - they were terrible and after waiting half an hour they still weren't hot enough to cook anything. We ended up using the bbq outside to cook our chicken. If you have a gas stove I'd recommend using that instead. All in all this was our favourite park in NZ - great value for money and the staff were very friendly and helped us book our Milford trip through a smaller local company (Jucy Eco Tours) which was great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The offending hotplates you mentioned have been replaced and are all in good order.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing