We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with exceptional view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Stayed 4 nights in the Lakeview Tourist Flats at the Te Anau Lakeview Holiday park, Te Anau late Dec 2009. These units are not five star accomodation but great for a family who is happy with basic accomodation that is clean and tidy with good service. While the cooking facilities are limited they are functional for 'holiday' cooking. The beds were comfortable. My only 'grizzle' is the noise. The accomodation is from a time gone by - and while updated and comfortable etc - the floor boards are noisy and the walls thin. As the units are attacted (four in a row) you can hear your neighbours walking and talking. BUT - the view - this makes up for the noise issue in buckets. - You look over the lake across to the mountians - the main living room has a large window and the only obstruction to the view is the odd tent/campervan and a few trees - a truely wonderful view for the cost of the unit.
In addition the people at the office were helpful and friendly and assited us in anything we required.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4kiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2010

Thankyou for this positive feed back. After many years of great service, we plan to replace these units this Winter. The fantastic View will remain unspolit !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights in early February 2009. The weather was mixed and at one time very cold. We were in a tent and pretty much alone in a large field when compared to the motor homes.who park very close to each other. The new on-site facilities were excellent and would be cleaner if people did not wear shoes in the showers and cleaned the table after eating. But we would certainly stay again. Location is good for both Doubtful and Milford Sounds's. The town is nice with some good restaurants but see the local film called'Shadowlands' in the cinema as its great and you see things you will not see unless you rent a helicopter for a month or so
The site is only a ten minutes beatiful walk in to town

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

The holiday park has a bit of everything from Camp sites to dorm rooms to small self catering units.

Our rooms where good enough although perhaps a little pricy at NZ$130 per night. Some of the other rooms looks old from the outside.

The staff service was unfriendly, not rude, just not responsive or friendly particularly. You are left thinking that you are a bit of a bother to some of the staff.

The location is very convenient for the DOC office where much of the tramping transport goes from, but there are many places along the waterfront that are also close.

Te Anau is a nice little town and the pie shop near the lake sells some of the best pies I have every tasted (the venison Pie is just amazingly good). Less good is the Pizza cafe on the others side of the road.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We found the accomodation to be basic but at the price we paid i guess we got be paid for. The good thing we found was that the place was a good stopping point prior to 1/2 day hike to Key Summit ( near Milfound Sound) and our afternoon cruise.
The one minus was that the staff within reception looked bored and a bit off handed when asked a few basic touristy type questions.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

$15 (tent site) to $130 (family cabin).
It doesn’t take too much to enjoy and have a great time at Te Anau.
Besides that, this campsite has great lake views, a big kitchen, showers and Internet connection.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank medusazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have just returned home after our trip and while we were in the south Island NZ we stayed at this place. The frontline staff member was a male who had fantastic local knoweldge and we felt totally informed before heading down the Milford Road(which we had heard was pretty rough). The accommodation was clean and warm and the shared kitchen/showers were all new. The view was amazing and we enjoyed the short stroll along the lakefront into the little village. We checked out other parks in the village but they were very small.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Stayed at the above mentioned Lodge with my partner just recently, was quite disappointed for a number of reasons. The ginger girl on the front desk was just about helpful (kinda didn't want to be there attitude) you have to rent the cutlery, because SAD people steal it, so getting breakfast was fun, that was after the toaster set the smoke alarm of that was positioned so high up, you needed binoculars to see it, so we couldn't stop it from bleeping at 7am.(btw the toast didn't burn either) DON'T bother with the "shop" because it didn't even have bread or milk, I gave them the benefit of the doubt and went back the next morning thinking they'd re-stocked, nope. nice walk into town to get some basic provisions.( sarcasm intended) slighty to the right of main reception there was some nice helpful people who told us that there was a nature park to visit real local.on another plus the scenery is lovely and there's the glo worm caves to visit which was cool.Milford Sound is a LIGHT year away like 4 hours there! so 4 hours back = 8 hours, should have done more homework on Te Anau really.The door in between our room and next door might as well have been made from cardboard, cos at one point the neighbour was in and out of the sliding door like it was a fashion.also someone tried rattling the door which made me a little bit uneasy, thinking they might just come through the door any moment, I was starkers! I'm not old or anything and don't like moaning but, this place was really in need of improving, they should UP the price and improve it big time, oh yeh and the chamber maid was non existant.we need another plus don't we?? the bed was WELL comfy!! have fun!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yehbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £36 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing