We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I'm really surprised by the negative reviews about this holiday park and think that your experience of it is very influenced by what accommodation you choose there and what time of year you go. We stayed in a Lakeview Tourist Flat for two nights at a quiet time of year and had no problems at all. The view was fantastic, as long as you ignored the road in front of you but thankfully it was a very quiet one. The Flat was very spacious and adequately equipped. My kids enjoyed the playground and there was plenty of room to kick a ball around, although not as many facilites as other holiday parks we stayed in. Good wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegreenkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Thankyou for writing a positive review about our Property. I would be interested to know what further facilities you would like to see provided. Kind regards
Jill Tauri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

we stayed in 2008, there was not an option in the designated fields to say when we stayed as it only had from 2010. We stayed in winter and believed it was a very good place to stay, clean, tidy and the staff were friendly. maybe that has all changed. i am going back in 2011 (July) and will stay there again. I did stay in a camper van but found all the amenties very clean. i come from Australia and the van parks in NZ are 10 times better than what you will see in OZ. I think this place has the best view in Te Anau as a van park if you get there early

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bill09876567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Thankyou for your review. We have beeen working hard and upgrading accommodation, facilities and Grounds over the past year. We welcome your positive coverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

we stayed with a campervan. the showershad fungus everywhere and the hot water went cold all the time and they got flooded so the water of al the showers make this pool on your feet, not quite nice as everyones dirt is at your feet!!!!. not really hygeneic for children!!!
lots of teenage travelling groups so at night it ist quiet, not really good sleep either!!
drunk teenagers screaming at night, nobody controlling at night, vomit everywhere until next late morning.
TIP: DO NOT STAY HERE WITH CHILDREN!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturocap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

we where 2 german girls travelling and the reception staff seemed bothered by our presence and we didnt receive the help we needed to move around the area!!!
it was really noisy at night and dirty! no cutlery or crockery clean in the kitchens.
the showers were also a problem, the water turned hot and cold al of a sudden.
i guess we understood why they have the cheapest price! BAD SERVICE!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikaschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

The front desk clerk allowed us to view the rooms before making a decision. We chose a lakeview room only for the view. The rooms are basic and outdated. There was a fan in the room which we used to help mask the traffic noise. For basic accomodations, this is a good option. We paid NZ $99 for our room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Most staffs are nice but the manager is extremely rude(I guess it's the same one the other lady who got bedbug bite were talking about). He's one of the rudest person we faced in NZ. (not mentioning he's working in the hotel service). I will never step into this place again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My family and I stayed in a Tourist Flat there on 15 & 16 January 2010. On the first night of my stay, I was bitten by bedbugs. I reported this to Reception at 7.30am the next morning. At 5pm on the 16 January, the Park Manager insisted that we should return to the same flat. He refused to give us another room. As a result, I sustained more than 100 bites to my body during the second night of my stay. I also caught more than 10 bedbugs from my arms, pyjamas and bed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SydneyHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2010

Management sincerely apologised to this customer and took appropriate steps to fumigate this room as well as units either side of it .This was done by an accredited pest company.
A refund was given,( difficult at first to find correct credit card details to to this ,as booked through an agent .)
We have also agreed to pay other costs associated with this incident and written to the person concerned with an unreserved apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing