We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch”
Review of La Roulotte - CLOSED

La Roulotte
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We work with the weather here in fiord land! Check our website link for our days off. We are open from december to april.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I love this place. The owners are friendly and welcoming, and the crepes are big and full of flavour. They also do their own sodas; the ginger one is better than any ginger beer I've ever tasted!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcreightz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was so amazed and delighted that a little place like this was in a reasonably remote and relatively small town like Te Anau but what a fantastic surprise! The crepes are lovely and the coffee quite traditional and also good but the atmosphere and service are the best. We absolutely loved it (kids included) and if we had found it earlier in our stay would have eaten there every day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found this place on TripAdvisor and it definitely exceeded our expectations. We went for an early dinner and both enjoyed a fresh fruit crepe. The best crepes we've ever had! The owners are the sweetest people and so friendly- and very interesting to talk to! You can't miss this in Te Anau.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseJackMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Quirky little food van in Te Anau. Tasty crepes, with sweet or savoury options, fairly limited and basic menu but very tasty all the same! We got the sugar and lemon + sugar. It was $9 for both which is pretty reasonable. Both delicious as a mid afternoon snack probably not filling enough as a main meal though. Cute setup with the caravan and homemade furniture, retro crockery and very friendly staff. Pity we discovered them on their last day of their season (they only operate over summer months) otherwise we would have been there every day! Highly recommend if your visiting Te Anau - just on the grass behind the library in town centre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great crepe by great people!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Syd and Virginee are super friendly people who know their crepes!
This was my first time trying savory crepes and it was delicious. In my 4 days in te anau I ate there 4 times! From the savory crepes I tried the salmon (best!) and the egg and cheese (you can have it with ham or with vegetables, too). From the sweet ones I tried the salted caramel, and the nutella. All were excellent. It's also very reasonably priced, and with a smiling, smart&funny couple like that serving you, the entire experience is made even better!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Roulotte also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing