We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious, friendly.”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, friendly.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights in March and had really good weather so did a lot of walking of some of Kepler track, and Key Summit. The Motel host was very knowledgeable about local activities.
The accommodation was very clean and the cooking facilities were fine, including the token electric frying pan which I'm sure is a kiwi icon. I'm seriously thinking about buying one!
Consequently, I fell even more in love with Te Anau, as it's comfort that counts when travelling!
The bonus was being able to park right outside the room which makes it easy to unload cases.
Although the Motel is located one street back from the lake, there was a view of the mountains from the glass doors.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bright0nkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

While staying in Te Anau with friends, my travel buddy and I wanted to drive to Milford Sound and also hike the Kepler Track, but the weather forecast was rather foul and just downright confusing. We went to the DOC, where the staff was completely unhelpful in providing almost any information or advice. We were standing in their office looking frustrated when someone approached us and suggested that we speak to Tony at AlpenHorn, an apparent font of knowledge on all things Te Anau related. We thought it odd, but we decided to try and drove over to the Alpenhorn, walked into the office, and asked for Tony. We presented our dilemma, and Tony literally walked us into his house to show us his dopler weather monitors, and told us exactly how we should proceed as far as our plans and the weather were concerned. And thanks to his excellent advice, we had an idyllic time at both sites. Thanks, Tony!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lininnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great location for starting to explore Fiordland. Comfortable and friendly motel, with all conveniences. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed two days, checking out the glow worms and Milford Road. The host was so very helpful in giving us ideas for activities and sightseeing. He made sure we had everything we needed in our room. The kitchen area was great for fixing our meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Spacious room with queen bed, only one nightstand, two small easy chairs, breakfast table with two chairs, and TV. Kitchen area with two-burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, and full complement of dishes and pots and pans. Tea, coffee, and a small bottle of milk. Modern bathroom, and hair dryer. Motel one block off Lake Shore Drive and away from traffic. Walking distance to CBD and restaurants. Quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Alpenhorn motel and enjoyed it. When we first drive in we were quite worried, but the unit was surprisingly good for the price. We had a queen bed in the living room which was comfy and the room very spacious. There were also 3 singles in a separate room that was able to be completely closed off. Ideal if you had young children and wanted to watch tv in the lounge. The decor is dated but you have everything you need and is very clean. Full kitchen, with full hotplates and oven which is reasonably modern. Bathroom is large but find it odd to have carpet in it. Tony, the owner was very helpful and booked tours for us for no extra cost. He knows what he's talking about so take his advice. The wifi was $5 for 24 hours and was unmetered within reason. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazzamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Booked a 2 nights stay and as it was very busy when we wanted to visit so the Alpenhorn was not our first choice to stay.

When we arrived the accommodation was not the most inspiring from the outside to say the least.

There was another family waiting in a car as there was a note on the office door that they would be bck in an hours time. We went for a look around and returned back about hour and half later. The other family were there but the office was empty, not a good sign. We all waited and waited and eventually someone came nearly 2 hours later than they said.....

Anyway the room was of a good size, very clean with a table and 2 chairs as well as a couple of comfy chairs. A double bed which was really to soft for me, but the room was quite old fashioned in decor.

The kitchenette area was separate to the bedroom which was great to keep cooking smells out of the way. Microwave etc. well equipped with all utensils you would need.

Shower room snug but I have never seen such a small shower head that produced a fantastic pressure and spray! Again the bathroom was very clean and tidy with ample room for all your 'stuff' in a built in cupboard.

Table and chairs to sit outside at the back, as the car was parked outside the front door at the front.

We found the Internet connection really poor (like a lot of New Zealand) and had to sit outside in the garden to get any signal.

Apart from the annoyance of no-one being back when they said they would at the office(the same happened the next day, again with people waiting to check in) we enjoyed our stay and thought it was very good value for money and would recommend. Don't let the exterior put you off!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Property: Alpenhorn Motel
Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing