We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience during my south island trip”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best experience during my south island trip”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Very friendly host, the place was clean and looked new, with comfy bed, got everything we needed, we were especially happy with the good wifi. A place I would recommend to stay during the Milford Sound trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimiesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed in a studio for 2 nights. It is spacious and clean with a shared backyard. The owner/staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. He recommended the cruise on Milford Sound and we really enjoyed it. One more thing, besides shampoo and conditioner, make-up removers are also provided. Very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a simple motel that has everything you need while in Te Anau - small kitchen, nice sized main room, it is close to shops, restaurants and the lake. The property is older, but well kept, and the host is wonderful. We stayed 4 nights. Tony helped us book our trips to Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound, he even cancelled one of our previous bookings for us. He recommended an excellent bush walk for us and even gave us advice on things to see in our next destination. If I return to Te Anau, I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0neExpl0ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was probably the oldest of the motels we stayed at during our two weeks in the South Island, but was still fine for our overnight stay.

The main room was spacious and comfortable, even if the lights were a little misplaced (I think the bed had been moved from its original location) and the separate kitchenette was well equipped.

Everything was clean and well-cared for, and the owner was a cheerful soul when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Alpenhorn with 2 teenage sons after the Milford track was closed due to very heavy rain and our planned 3 day walk was cancelled. We were at a loose end for 3 days, having arrived in Te Anau with no vehicle and only our hiking gear. Tony who runs the motel was wonderful, the most helpful host I have ever come across; he had lots of advice for alternative walking, tried to find alternative hut accommodation for us; and when we could not book in to any of the track accommodation, drove us to the start of the Kepler track in his own car and picked us up at the end of the day. He salvaged our holiday for us and gave us a very positive experience of Te Anau.
The motel unit itself was good value, conveniently located, and while not large has everything you need including very comfortable beds. Plus spotlessly clean. When we return to Te Anau I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We had a great time staying at the alpenhorn. The host was such a delight and very helpful. The room was clean and was self contained with a kitchenette. If you want to save some money by not staying in absolute lake-front accommodation, then this is the place for you. It represents excellent value. We will definitely stay again when we next visit Fiordland!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed here for 2 nigths and one thing I like about this motel is the staff/owner. He is very helpful in all matter and very knowledgeable about Milford Sound. I'm sure that everyone that is looking to stay in Te Anau are looking forward to go to Milford Sound. Well, this guy will tell you where is the best place to stop along the way and even suggest to you which cruise to take.
About the room, the settings and arrangments are very nice. And very clean too. Very comfortable stay I would say.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thenaturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Property: Alpenhorn Motel
Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing