We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely helpful and friendly hosts. Large freshly painted room that was plenty big enough for our family of four. Free DVDs and unlimited wi fi. This was a great place to stay and us highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stated at the alpenhorn for one night only. The owner couldn't have been nicer arranging a water taxi for us to go on the Kepler track and recommending places to eat. Unlike a lot of New Zealand motels/hotels the wifi was unlimited and included in the price. Great base for Milford. Thanks!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fionaandfiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a very warm welcome from the owner who also gave us several trips for our onward journey. The room was totally tidy and clean. Heating was working perfectly and tv and free wifi as well. Kitchen facilities perfect. Thank you for a great one night stay!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We really liked our stay here and thought it was good value. We stayed overnight prior to driving to Milford Sound; the lake in Te Anau is beautiful early morning. It only took us a couple of minutes to walk to the lakeside from the motel, and the lakeside stroll (5 mins) to the main street for dinner was lovely (plenty of choice of restaurants).
We thought it was a quaint, characterful motel with a friendly owner. Bed was comfy, good water pressure in the shower and room was spacious and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the patio space outside our unit for a pre-dinner drink on arriving. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This motel is on the 2nd road from the lake and does look more non-descript than its neighbours. It is slightly dated but does offer decent prices and internet. The owner was helpful about touring destinations, routes etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Alpenhorn and were very pleased with the accommodation. Great Value, the room was very clean and spacious, and the owner, Tony, was very helpful with booking us the Milford trip and showing us what there is to do in Te Anau. We had a great time here… Thank You!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Very friendly host, the place was clean and looked new, with comfy bed, got everything we needed, we were especially happy with the good wifi. A place I would recommend to stay during the Milford Sound trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimiesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing