We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute motel run by lovely people!”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute motel run by lovely people!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my way to Milford Sound. The cleanliness was amazing. From the outside it looks like it was built a while ago and it's not like everything is brand new, but it is so well maintained. My bed was comfortable, the location was good. The owners are helpful and really nice people. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_spentyouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in unit 7 (a family unit with 3 adults and2 kids) for a night before starting the Routeburn track. It was perfect accommodation for us and the host was really friendly. I don't know about the other units but unit 7 is really spacious and was really clean. Good location between the DOC centre (inter city bus stop) and town and the lake.

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant-kathy-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renwick, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A very lovely stay. Tony was most helpfully in advice of what to do in the area and very friendly.
i would recommend to any one to stay here it is a short walk to town and the kids loved playing with there dog.
Kerry

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koondrook, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights and loved the accommodation. Tony was very helpful and accommodating. Clean, comfortable and warm. Only a short walk to town. Our room had a queen size and single bed. Extra blankets, too. Thanks Tony

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Tony was just fabulous - booked everything for us and gave us all the info we needed to make the most of our stay.

Our unit was of a very high standard, and great to be able to park right outside. Excellent value when compared with other accommodation in the town, and a very short walk from the centre. Also super to have free wifi which was reliable - one of few places we found this in our stay in NZ.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DellaSalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Awesome place to stay. Great family owned Motel. Please go and visit with Tony. The rooms are up to date, equip with a nice kitchenette, dining table, sitting area and patio. It was the best sleep I got during my whole New Zealand trip. He is a great man and very knowledgeable about the area. He is passionate about his Motel and it shows. He is a people person. I can't rave enough about this awesome kind man and family. They were just great. I really hope to stay in touch with them and wish them all the best. I hope he continues to hang on to this piece of property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I must admit I was a little worried when I drove up to this motel as it looked fairly plain.But the rooms were great and the owner was genuine and nice. It's in a nice location (a short walk to the lake or the shops) and it's a perfect base for trips to Milford Sound (and much cheaper than the accommodation at MS).

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are closest to the road. Having said that, it's a quiet residential road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Property: Alpenhorn Motel
Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing