We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good older-style motel”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here two nights over the New Year period, principally to tour to Doubtful Sound on New Year's Day. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and were able to assist us with things such as using the coin-operated laundry.

The accommodation is an older-style room with kitchenette (including a variety of kitchen utensils) and represented good value at this busy period. It was perfectly clean and functional, and we were able to cook a meal in-house for one of the nights we stayed. Being one road back from the lake also helped in keeping the noise down when the New Year's fireworks were going off!

If you're looking for comfortable and well-priced accommodation in Te Anau, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Alpenhorn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of April for 2 nights. Had unlimited free wifi and a spacious room with good kitchen facilities. The host gave us great suggestions of things to do in the area and we managed to do the first part of the Kepler Track in 2 hours. Beautiful!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here March 21/22 this year. We had no complaints what so ever. The owner, Tony is very helpful, friendly and welcoming Kitchen was very well equiped, bed very comfortable and we had everything supplied that we required. Lovely little private outdoor area outside our ranchslider, easy parking and just a short walk to the town centre. The owner had booked us with "Trips and Tramps" company to go to Milford Sound and that was an excellent choice.... small coach with only 12 passengers and a couple of interesting stops that the larger coaches did not appear to go to....well worth the time to do this trip. Te Anau is a nice place to visit and the lake is just beautiful... We would recommend Alpenhorn Motel to travellers and would certainly stay there again next time we are lucky enough to go to TeAnau.. Thanks to the owners for making our stay a great one....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jul88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've stayed in 30-40 motels and this ranks right up near the top. Not much I would change about this. Good comfortable beds obviously reasonably new and not saggy. Free wifi, TV, milk/tea/coffee. Very quiet. Just be aware the trip to Milford Sound from Te Anau is more like 2 hours instead of the 1 hour google gives it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had one night here at the beginning of March. It was apparent that the rooms had been refurbished relatively recently, and we found our room to be very pleasant, clean and comfortable. It's conveniently located only a short walk from the lake front and the town centre. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TolinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We reserved and stayed in the "deluxe family unit" here and it was quite disappointing. The indoor furniture was shabby, the bed soft, the "private garden" was just a small enclosure with overgrown grass littered with a few plastic furniture items and broken toys, the television did not work and the whole place just had a dusty feel and musty smell. All this for $179.00. Alternatively, the studio unit we saw later looked fine, and much cheaper. When we arrived, the proprietress said that while her mother suggested we stay in the studio unit (at $151.00), she recommended the family unit. It was just my wife and I, and we certainly didn't need all the room in the family unit, so I can only surmise that we were pushed into the family unit so she could collect the extra $27.00. This was really a shame because when we looked into a studio unit on our way out, it looked fine and, other than giving us the clearly inferior room so she could charge more, the proprietress was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in many motels in NZ, ALL of them cheaper, and this was the worst experience we had. I find it hard to believe this motel is ranked # 4 in Te Anu.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Deluxe Family Suite"
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTravelSaipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simbaTeAnau, Owner at Alpenhorn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

This person did not stay at our Motel, once again prices quoted are completely wrong, to say the proprietress said that ( what did she say?) and her mother said to stay in a studio unit strikes me as strange as my wife does not work at Motel as she has a job in the town, studio unit is $140.00
and deluxe unit $150.00, where do they get their prices from?
This review is of poor taste and in particular that they have the wrong place, once again please put your name to to your review, and also put your concerns to reception before leaving.

Tony Austin (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Nice and cheap and a friendly host. Close to the town centre and the lake - walking distance. Perfect place for a one night stopover. No air conditioning and on a warm night can be a little hard to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5haleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 23 in Te Anau
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing