We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Te Waka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Waka Lodge
Ranked #19 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed upstairs in unit 3. It was very spacious & very clean.
A lovely diy breakfast was provided in the fridge.
We used our car to go to the lake front & town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This place is a hidden gem - more like a 'granny flat' than holiday accommodation. The owners are really friendly and made us feel at home. Wonderful views towards the mountains. Short walk to the town centre and ideal base for Milford Sound. Stayed for three nights and weather was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

WE had the upstairs suite for 2 nioghts, which was very roomy and comforatble,providing a sitting area, Kitchenette and eating area, as well as a balcony with a table and chairs. The only oddity was the need to wash dishes in the bathroom sink. The food provided for breakfast was ample.Our third night was in the purpose built studio en suite room which also provided kitchenette (and sink!) but nowhere to eat except outside. However, the accommodation was very comfortable and suited our purposes. Our hosts were very helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Antler lodge is in a quiet residential street a few minutes walk from the lake. The room was spotless with good kitchen facilities & a "do it yourself" breakfast, all the ingredients provided. Comfy bed and best shower in New Zealand. So relaxing to sit on the balcony in the pretty garden after a fullfilling days walking or paddling. Helen the hostess was so welcoming and hospitable. Thank you , we will be back to your paradise at 43 below.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed in one of the back rooms and it was fine. Comfortable, clean and quiet and the owner leaves in the fridge all of the fixins to make your own breakfast. Nothing really negative or positive to write. I would consider staying again if I return but likely would try somewhere new. It is close to town but not walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Our host, Helen, was so, so lovely...she made the visit completely worthwhile. We were allowed to use the laundry facilities and we hung our clothes outside in questionable weather. When we arrived back, she had taken all of laundry (a lot!) off the line and put it on a laundry rack and left it in our breakfast area - thanks!! Also, our breakfast provisions were acceptable along with the stunning views of Te Anau from the suite! We loved our stay there...the only caveat is the walking distance to the town's center may be a little tough for some...we drove in and out of town, so it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and found Hellen & Chris to be great hosts, they have thought of everything you would want in a B&B. Our room had a well equipped kitchenette with all crockery, glassware and cutlery together with the essential pots and pans that you would need, even a spray can of cooking oil. There is a microwave, hob unit and a well stocked fridge (butter, bread, 4 eggs, orange juice, fresh milk, yogurt, container of peaches and a bottle of chilled water). There are tea bags and coffee, a choice of 3 cereals, marmalade, jam and honey too) The room was nicely decorated and furnished and had a roomy bathroom. We must stress how clean we found everything and commend Hellen on the cleanliness of the accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriesdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waka Lodge

Property: Te Waka Lodge
Address: 44 Matai Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cater to guests looking for private, self contained units in a quiet residential area. Our self contained cottages have queen size beds and kitchen facilities, our spacious upstairs apartment has a king size bed and mountain views. All our units have ensuite with shower. Continental breakfast is provided in the rooms this includes eggs to cook in the cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Waka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing