We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Te Waka Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Waka Lodge
Ranked #27 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights, using it as a base for visits to Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound. It was one of the nicest places that we stayed in in New Zealand. We had the upstairs apartment, adjacent to the house. It was extremely spacious and very well equipped. And comfortable! We were well looked after by Helen and Chris, and it was a great pleasure staying here. It was easily an apartment that we could have stayed in for much longer, had we had the time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although the upstairs apartment is slightly more expensive it is worth paying the extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Chris. We stayed in the apartment in the back. Very spacious and everything for breakfast the next day was nicely stowed in the fridge. Our hostess, Helen, came to see us later that evening and one really gets a feeling of being at home with such great hosts. Thank you Helen and Chris!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

When we arrived our host Helen draw our attention to the closure of the road to Milford Sound. Since we would go for a cruise she suggested that we should go to the cruise company to see whether we could change the date of the cruise. We clearly appreciated her concern in the pleasure of the guests. The room is good although it has no wardrobe. The TV has only 3 channels. The curtain in the shower is very short. After taking a shower the bathroom is completely wet.
The B&B is located close to the center of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for one night. The host was out when we arrived but she had left a note saying our room was unlocked and ready for us which was nice.

There is no view as this is in suburbia but the room is more than adequate. The breakfast was included and very nice - a selection of 'continental' breakfast foods and orange juice prepared by the host and arranged in your fridge. So you have to organise/serve the breakfast yourself, but this is actually quite nice because you can just do it at your own pace and in your pyjamas! We had to dine on the coffee table as there was no dining table in the room, though there was a note to say we were welcome to bring inside the outdoor furniture to dine on.

The only (small) thing I could suggest would be net curtains so that you could have some light but still have privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very nice self-contained bungalows at the back of the house - very nice hospitality - you found on your own - we stay 3 nights there - enough to discover the area and the marvelous Doubtful sound

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We read several reviews on this B&B and decided it was the place to stay in Te Anau before kayaking Milford Sound. We stayed in the upstairs suite and were very happy with all the accommodations. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Helen, who took wonderful care of us. Our only regret was not spending the extra night after our kayaking trip, rather than driving back to Queenstown. If/when we get back to Te Anau, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The room, kitchen and bathroom were very spacious and clean. The owner was very friendly and gave us good tips what to see and what to do. The Lodge is located very close to the lake (5 min walk) and the city center (10 min walk). We could have our breakfast whenever we wanted as everything was prepared in the freezer. So very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Alpine Rock B&B
Alpine Rock B&B
#12 of 30 in Te Anau
29 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#4 of 30 in Te Anau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waka Lodge

Address: 44 Matai Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £68 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cater to guests looking for private, self contained units in a quiet residential area. Our self-contained cottages have queen size beds and kitchen facilities, our spacious upstairs apartment has a king size bed and mountain views. All our units have en suite with shower. Continental breakfast is provided in the rooms - this includes eggs to cook in the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing