We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Nice for our family”
Review of Te Waka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Waka Lodge
Ranked #19 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy and Nice for our family”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Best bed and breakfast for the price in Te Anau. About $150 NZ a night. Very nice cozy rooms, a little tight for our family of 4 but we were told it would be. Good breakfast food in the fridge. Very nice owners.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Antler lodge as it is in a convenient location (but not at the lakefront) and our room was very clean and spacious as well as fully equipped with stove, fridge, toaster, microwave, etc. Our bed was very comfortable and the room had a small porch. The breakfast consisted of toast, jam, cornflakes, juice, yoghurt, canned fruit, milk and eggs. It is put in the fridge every night for self preparation. We would also like to mention that we had very good and inexpensive FISH & CHIPS (blue cod) twice from a place that just opened up business in a trailer which is parked at the lakefront close to the i-site tourist information (I think the name was Melly’s).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermata
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The room was wonderful - large and well fitted (we had the upstairs studio). We had enough privacy but Helen was extremely helpful when we needed it. The location was good, easy walk to everything but it was the sort of B&B where you were happy to just enjoy being in the room. Highly recommended - the only down point - no wifi but apparently email access is available.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Helen responded to my repeated queries with great patience and promptness. Due to time constraints we couldn't stay long but she made sure that our tours were organised to maximise our time effectively. I wish she could organise all my holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieBly_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Superb room in a quiet neighbourhood.
The lovely host gave us a very warm welcome.

Great place to prepare for your trip to Milford Sound!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This was one our favourite stays on our NZ trip. We stayed at Te Anau two nights in order to comfortably fit in the Milford Sound day trip. The upstairs room was spacious and incredibly comfortable with great views. The hosts were very friendly and booked our Milford Sound trip for us. The location was a short walk from the main street so made for a pleasant walk for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2009

The room upstairs is cozy and cute and has a great view !

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmagicwoman311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.6 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waka Lodge

Property: Te Waka Lodge
Address: 44 Matai Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cater to guests looking for private, self contained units in a quiet residential area. Our self contained cottages have queen size beds and kitchen facilities, our spacious upstairs apartment has a king size bed and mountain views. All our units have ensuite with shower. Continental breakfast is provided in the rooms this includes eggs to cook in the cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Waka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing