We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower on our 6 week trip”
Review of Te Waka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Waka Lodge
Ranked #27 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Antler B&B was a perfect stay for us. We stayed in one of the back cottages and they were spacious, quiet and very clean. The shower was the best with great water pressure. Helen was so pleasant and always available if we needed her. We were able to prepare our own breakfast in our room of cooked eggs with toast, coffee and juice (left each day by Helen) , and then head off for sightseeing and tramping along the lake or Milford Sound road. The room was also serviced each day and fresh towels left, so coming home each day weary from exploring; the room was a welcome sight.
Chris and Helen also responded quickly to our initial queries. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisisusSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in the Antler Lodge, upper room. It is big, comfortable, nice and clean, so we enjoyed our stay there a lot. After walking the whole day this is the perfect play to stay. Helen was very nice to us giving advices on the places to go, tracks to walk, restaurants to eat and so on. We have excellent memories of this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Best bed and breakfast for the price in Te Anau. About $150 NZ a night. Very nice cozy rooms, a little tight for our family of 4 but we were told it would be. Good breakfast food in the fridge. Very nice owners.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Antler lodge as it is in a convenient location (but not at the lakefront) and our room was very clean and spacious as well as fully equipped with stove, fridge, toaster, microwave, etc. Our bed was very comfortable and the room had a small porch. The breakfast consisted of toast, jam, cornflakes, juice, yoghurt, canned fruit, milk and eggs. It is put in the fridge every night for self preparation. We would also like to mention that we had very good and inexpensive FISH & CHIPS (blue cod) twice from a place that just opened up business in a trailer which is parked at the lakefront close to the i-site tourist information (I think the name was Melly’s).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The room was wonderful - large and well fitted (we had the upstairs studio). We had enough privacy but Helen was extremely helpful when we needed it. The location was good, easy walk to everything but it was the sort of B&B where you were happy to just enjoy being in the room. Highly recommended - the only down point - no wifi but apparently email access is available.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fermata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Helen responded to my repeated queries with great patience and promptness. Due to time constraints we couldn't stay long but she made sure that our tours were organised to maximise our time effectively. I wish she could organise all my holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieBly_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Superb room in a quiet neighbourhood.
The lovely host gave us a very warm welcome.

Great place to prepare for your trip to Milford Sound!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#6 of 30 in Te Anau
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#2 of 30 in Te Anau
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waka Lodge

Address: 44 Matai Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £69 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cater to guests looking for private, self contained units in a quiet residential area. Our self-contained cottages have queen size beds and kitchen facilities, our spacious upstairs apartment has a king size bed and mountain views. All our units have en suite with shower. Continental breakfast is provided in the rooms - this includes eggs to cook in the cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Waka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing