We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radfords on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seabeck
Level Contributor
265 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

You can see all the rooms when you drive up to the hotel so when my wife said she wanted a specific room and we actually got that room it was a great start to the stay. Check in was friendly and quick. The room itself was nice and big. Big bed, a kitchen area and also a small sitting area with a sofa. We had a perfect view of lake Te Anau and the city center was within walking distance.
Washer and dryer are available on both levels.
Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review on Radfords Lakeview Motel and pleased that you enjoyed your time here and that you were delighted with your accommodation and loved the view from your unit of the Lake and Mountains. We do hope that the rest of your travells went just as well and would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    119
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
130
352
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuarts Point, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at the Radford Motel for 2 nights and there wasn't enough they could do for us to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Would recommend it to anyone wanting that little bit extra in a stay.
Karen R

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Karen.R
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit with us. We are delighted to know you had an excellent stay and appreciated what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had a lovely stay here with a great view from the upstairs apartment over the lake. Kerri could not have done more to make our stay a memorable one. From offering a lemonade icy pole to my sick daughter, to booking our trip to Milford sound and then finding 2 more seats the next day when my daughter had recovered, nothing was too much trouble. Spotless rooms. Perfect location near town and lake.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fsctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that your daughter was well enough so you could all travel as a family together to Milford and enjoy the Milford Experience. We trust the remainder of your trip went just as well and have many fond memories of your time spent in New Zealand.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The two bedroom apartments are fantastic. Very spacious bedrooms and great views from the lounge area out to the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Gemm11, Thanks for staying with us and that your enjoyed your accommodation, views from your unit and your experiences in Fiordland. We trust the rest of your Trip went just as well and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in a top floor one bedroom Studio unit at Radfords. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful Kerry. The unit was perfect. They have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We were able to cook our own meals, which after 2 weeks of travelling was great not to have to go out, it was also was very quiet and warm. It is also a very short stroll to town. Thank you for making our stay in Te Anau so enjoyable. We will be recommending this motel to everyone and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Sue B

I am delighted your enjoyed your time with us and that you have fond memories of Radfords . It is always reasuring to hear that we deliver great service, friendly hospitality and our accommmadtion is warm and quite. We appreciate you taking the time to review this property and do hope that you are able to visit us again.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Ar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were scheduled for a 2 night stay at Radford's Lakeview Motel. We arrived late in the evening and we were greeted by the owner. Unfortunately, my mother suffered a serious medical problem which required our immediate return to the US. The owner spent an hour or more helping us make arrangements for our early morning departure, changing airline tickets, etc. Very early in the morning of departure a tray of breakfast treats was awaiting us.
The kindness and consideration shown by the owner and her staff was exceptional. I highly recommend the Radford!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Radfords Lakeview Motel and are pleased that you were happy with the service, our staff and accommodation during your short stay with us. We were sorry that you recieved the news of your Mum's illness while you were with us and had to return home at such short notice, we do hope that you had a safe journey back to the US. It was no problem to help with your arrangements home and hope that in the future you are able to complete your trip to New Zealand.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ, Malaysai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived late on the evening of 13/6 from Mount Cook via Wanaka. I emailed Kerry to inform her that we would be late and she informed me she would leave the heater on. That was the beginning of a very warm welcome and great hospitality from the hosts! Upon our arrival, we were quickly recommended places to eat as Te Anau "sleeps" early. The room we stayed had microwave and hot plate, with cutlery and place mats so that we could have a nice dinner that night. Unfortunately, we had to leave early because we were rushing for an early cruise in Milford Sound and didn't get to enjoy the view (which was discovered was excellent when we stopped by during our return trip from Milford Sound). Kerri recommended to take away some food from a nearby bakery which turned out to be a very wise advice because there was not much selection of food in Milford Sound. The room was excellent. The special touches (mint and lavender) were sweet. I am touched by the friendly hosts and Radfords Motel Te Anau will always be remembered of that.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mawarjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at Radfords Lakeview Motel and value your feedback on our accommodation and friendly hospitality that we provide.

We strive to make everyones stay memorable and that you all go home with great memories of your time spent in Fiordland.

I do hope that you are able to come back and visit again so we can showcase more of what this area has to offer.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Radfords Lakeview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing