We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marvelous stay!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Thanks to our hostess, Kerri, we were able to change our room from upstairs to downstairs! The motel was fully booked but she was able to rearrange guests who were incoming on their cell phone and they graciously exchanged. A good thing as my husband had trouble climbing stairs at this point from the hiking in Milford Sound. We were so amazed at how wonderful we were treated and loved our stay in every way. A very quiet and peaceful place with a water view and all the amenities one could want! A most comfortable, lovely few days and we would highly recommend to our friends (and have)...enjoy the beauty and hospitality yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverMomasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Denver Momasita

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and your kind words. We do our best tio accomdate our guests requests where possible and in this case we were successful! I do hope that your husband has recovered well after all the walking.and that you have been able to share your wonderful experiances in New Zealand with your family and friends. Should you ever come this way in the future we would enjoy hosting you again.

Thank you for shoosing to stay with us.

Merry Christmas

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    124
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
136
366
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were given a great welcome upon arrival with lots of local facts and ideas. The motel is set in a lovely position overlooking the lake and only a 5 min walk into town where there is a good choice of restaurants to suit all tastes. The grounds are beautifully kept with an abundance of flowers in the borders at the time of our visit in spring.
We were allocated a ground floor room for our 2 night stay adjacent to reception which we were told had recently been refurbished. It was absolutely lovely, tastefully decorated and laid out with bedroom and shower room to the rear and lovely kitchenette and lounge area at the front looking across the car park to the lake.
The allocated parking space for the adjacent unit was outside our lounge area but as the adjacent unit was not occupied during the 2 nights of our stay. If it had been then the view across the lake would have been blocked so we were very lucky.
The room having just been refurbished was in tip top condition and beautifully clean throughout with the bed being one of the most comfortable we found on our 6 week trip.
Could not fault anything and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you are visiting in the high season it may be worth asking for a first floor room. Some of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D18KRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear D18KRB,

We are pleased to have been of help to you both with advice on local attractions whilst you were staying here. Our staff here do a brilliant job of presenting the rooms to a tip top standard so it is always nice to hear our guests appreciation and we will be sure to pass this on. We are very proud of our newly refurbished rooms and delighted our guests are enjoying them too!

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Seasons Greetings,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have travelled a lot and stayed in lots of motels both here is Aus and NZ and this one ticks ALL the boxes. We could not fault this motel in any way - my wife is disabled and we found the unit extremely user friendly. The lady in reception (who I take to be the owner) was kindness itself and wonderfully helpful in every way. The unit was spotless and everything in it from the cutlery to the toaster and the furniture was top quality, the bed comfy, heating great, TV quality good. A bonus for animal lovers is two friendly cats!! Breakfast supplies were enough for a feast to satisfy even the most discerning guest

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Lyn R

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your experience ticked all the boxes. We hope that you have great memories of your time at Milford Sound and that you both come back to visit us in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and hope that the remaining time you spent in NZ was just as memorable.

Best wishes to you both.
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

At first, we were hesitant to book this accommodation as we are wary of motels but once we arrived we realized that all the typical hotel ammenities and 4 star comfort were provided at Radfords, plus more.

Service - exceptional. Kerri was warm and welcoming and went out of her way to point out things to do, eat and even called to get us a booked up farm tour multiple times, trying to accommodate us during the rain. When this wasn't possible, she helped us find a location to pet their sheep :) I can't rave enough about her attention to detail and helpfulness. This is what sets the Radfords apart from any other hotel we've stayed at.

Rooms - very clean and comfortable. Many channels on the TV, comfortable couch and great decor. The kitchen included a microwave, stove, kettle, French press, tea pots, mugs and cutlery - everything we needed and more. The fridge was even stocked with water and fresh milk. Great tea selection as well. The only improvement here was that the mattress was a bit soft for my liking.

Bathrooms - also very clean with a spa bathtub even bath salts! I also enjoyed the sustainable selection of shower gels and lotions.

Location - right in the heart of town, walking distance from the pier, tour companies, restaurants and grocery store.

View - right on the water facing the lake. Absolutely stunning, rain or shine.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyToronto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tammy

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found your room and our service met your needs. It is always our pleasure to help our guests have the most memorable time while staying with us offering advise and tips about what you can do and where to eat.

Our staff do a wonderful job in presenting our units for our guests and I will pass on your appreciation and kind words to them.

I am sorry the bed did not quite meet your needs, they are a Medium firmness to cater for most people.

We do hope that you may be able to come back and that we can organise a Farm Tour on your next visit.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Welcoming, wonderful accommodation in great location. Everyone was very helpful to give guidance on restaurants, how to get places, etc. - couldn't ask for more. Rooms were superb. We had a great stay - wanted to move in permanently!

Room Tip: May want to ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHarper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear SHarper001,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay here at Radford's.
We are pleased that our recommendations lived up to your expectations we are very spoilt for choice with eateries in the area!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabeck
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

When we arrived at the Radfords Lakeview Motel it felt like we never left. We checked in and the greeting was warm and nice. We even got recognized from our first stay and got the same room we had a year ago. Again, the greeting by the resident cats helped as well. We walked up to our room and realized that the rooms had been renovated. Not in a bad way like so many renovations, this renovation was great. It made the room even nicer. You have your little kitchen corner, the bed on the one side and a couch and the TV on the other side. The bathroom is spacious with a heater or the window that you can open. So something for everyone.
The view is just fantastic as you can see over the lake and further to the mountains.
No wonder this hotel is #1, it is just great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Wala69,

It is always an absolute pleasure to welcome our guests back to Radford's! We are delighted that you choose to stay with us again and enjoyed our recently refurbished units.

We hope to welcome you back here again in the not too distant future and trust the rest of your travels are going well.

Kindest Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Radfords for four nights during our two week trip to New Zealand. Firstly I have to say, Te Anau is such a beautiful town and a must on your travel itinerary. It offers a number of excellent places to eat and is also a great base for exploring the Fiordlands. Radfords was the perfect place to stay in Te Anau. It has beautiful views of the lakes and is an easy walk into town. Kerry and her family made us feel so welcome. They provided excellent insights into the local area and nothing was too much trouble. It is clear that they really care about their guests. The rooms were lovely with well appointed, modern rooms. The attention to detail really set this place apart from the rest. Everything was thought of from the complimentary brekky for your first morning, the excellent range of herbal teas and coffee, the beautifully perfumed spa sachet and they even thought to put ear plugs on the female side of the bed (very thoughtful)!! We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Nicola

Thank you for reviewing your experience of your time here at Radfords Lakeview Motel. You were a pleasure to host and I am delighted that you have many lasting memories of your time in Te Anau and Fiordland.

We love to be able to share our knowledge of the area and tips on things to do and where to eat.

Should you ever come this way again we would welcome you back with open arms.

I do hope the remainder of your travells went well too.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing