We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay at Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay at Te Anau”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We had never been to Te Anau so didn't know anything about the town or where to stay. After reading reviews on this website I chose Radfords and was so pleased that it turned out to be a great hotel/motel if not, the best place to stay in town. It is situated along the road that runs the length of the lake so views are great and easy to go for a stroll, and only a block from town - so the ideal location. the rooms are very clean and spacious, the grounds and garden are clean and nicely kept and there is plenty of off street parking. Only thing is that there is not a private balcony to sit out on and enjoy the view, except if you are at the very front unit on the ground floor. but apart from this it was a great place and one of the better places we stayed in NZ while on our trip. we'll definitely be back to Te Anau as it is a lovely town and we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyss80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    124
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
135
363
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I had one night at this new motel on the shores of Lake Te Anau. We had a corner room looking directly out over the lake and close to the road, yet there was no traffic noise. Te Anau goes to sleep at night. The motel is new and our room was well designed and the bed very comfortable. There was a couch in the room, and bar stools for the breakfast bar. The kitchen was fully equipped including plunger coffee and we had a room with a large spa bath in it, more than enough room for two people.

The motel manager was very welcoming and useful in suggesting restaurants to go to.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philippa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Just back from a two night stay at Radfords with another couple during our visit to the South Island. We each booked an executive one bedroom unit, and were given units that were adjacent to each other on the upper floor. Our stay began with a very friendly greeting from Kerrie in reception; she was unfailingly polite and gracious throughout our stay. We followed her recommendations as to a couple of good restaurants, activities, and a small goup tour to Milford Sound with Steve of Trips and Tramps, which worked out perfectly for us.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was very good, with plenty of hot water. The linens were of a very good quality, with the towels being a good size. There was a large, thoughtful selection of teas, and the kitchenette was nice to have. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, grocery stores, and the Fiordland Cinema if you choose to see the movie about the region there.

Our rooms faced the lake directly and being on the upper floor meant we had no problem with our view. When we were checking in, Kerrie asked that we park our vehicle to the side so as to not block the views for the lower floor rooms. The second day we were there, Labour Day, saw many units being occupied, so some of the lower floor rooms did have a somewhat blocked view of the lake, which was unfortunate. However, there are tables and chairs set up in the front area and people did sit there and enjoy their beverages on a fine, sunny afternoon. As to earlier comments about the balconies not being private with other people walking past to get to their rooms, this does happen but no one seemed too disturbed by this as there is still plenty of room for you to read your paper or just sit and enjoy the view of the lake, which is just across the road.

While there are several other motels in Te Anau which enjoy a similar location, the friendliness of the people at Radfords would make this my choice if I were going to stay in Te Anau again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Radfords for 3 nights. We had intended to stay only 2 but due to snowy weather our Milford Sound tour was cancelled. We were able to stay an extra night and do the tour the next day. The weather was still iffy but Radfords can't control that.

We had the room on the upper floor right at the front of the building. Our view was beautiful and when the fog lifted the mountains across the lake were spectacular. I wish it had been warmer to sit out and enjoy my morning coffee. The room had everything we needed. A fully stocked small kitchenette (so we could do our own breakfast and lunches), a good size bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Walking distance to restaurants, grocery stores and shops and I must mention Keri. She was great! Very helpful, suggesting excellent restaurants, tours and at 7 am even booking our Milford sound tour.

I loved the area and hope to return someday to see Milford sound in sunny weather (if that ever really happens) When we do return we definitely will stay at Radfords.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazsnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Two nights at this lovely hotel made my husband and I happy to make this our base for exploring the region. It's the briefest of walks from the main road, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the room had all the amenities you could ever want. Reception was helpful and friendly and happy to recommend restaurants and activities. Free parking is nice, too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnbarnes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The apartment was nicely furnished and the bedrooms were a good size. The living area was a little small, however this was not a problem with TVs in each of the bedrooms. A nice touch was the aromatherapy bath bag for relaxation. My only negative comment was that the views across to the lake were beautiful, however we could not see these from our room as our view as blocked by the carpark. If you stay here I would recommend a first floor room as they have unobstructed views. Overall, however, the stay here was great and the host was excellent, assisting with bookings on a boat trip to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

If you are interested in staying at Radfords just keep in mind they do not allow one night stays. This may be different during the off-peak season though.

I inquired with Radfords about their room availability before and after we were due to hike one of the Great Walks and visit the Sounds. This was 3.5 months in advance of our departure dates but they refused to allow us to book for one night only, even though we wanted to book two nights.

We actually asked to pay for two nights, and requested one of their nicer rooms at a higher price. The two nights just happened to be three nights apart due to the timing of the track walk (which is the only reason we were travelling to Te Anau). We ofcourse have no control over this. We had already booked our accommodation in Christchurch and Queenstown before and after, so cannot simply pay for an extra consecutive night just because Radfords want us to.

While I understand they are a business and want to make money, I find it rather distastful that they feel they can dictate how long guests can stay in their motel and in what order. We ofcourse will be staying elsewhere.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing