We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, with Kitchen, Reasonable, View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A great buy for the location. It's on the lake, the owners are responsive, reliable, and kind. It is both on the Te Anau Lake, near the Department of Conservation Bird Sanctuary and a few blocks from the town center.

Room Tip: Can park right outside your room in the back and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I am one of the older relatives that swignz mentioned in his review so he has done my job for me.I can only agree with what has been said this was a very large detatched property with good views to the lake. Would stay here again as it is an easy walk into the centre of Te Anau with its good selection of food outlets and bars. Also this is a good stopover on the way to Milford Sound a must see if you are in this part of NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbelbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We travelled to Te Anau with older relatives who were visiting from the UK. We booked online and requested a two bedroom apartment with a nice view and were not disappointed upon arrival. Jodi (one of the managers there) put us in a separate two bedroom cottage, adjacent to the main motel complex and the lake. The cottage could not be faulted (it even came with it's own visiting cat!) and the view was outstanding. We were able to park right outside and the accommodation had all the motel facilities you need. We also dealt with Jodi at reception, she was friendly, efficient and helpful. We felt it was a shame we were only staying for one night, we would have liked to stay for longer. The motel is an easy 5 minute walk to the cluster of pubs and restaurants in the township. Highly recommended, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of 4-6 people, ask if the separate cottage unit is available (Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in a garden view studio which was perfect for a couple, plenty of room, good cooking facilities, comfortable bed and a nice bath and shower.

This family run motel was incredibly friendly and we were given some great tips on things to do in the area. They were also really helpful in looking after our luggage whilst we went on an overnight cruise after we checked out.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AntoniaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

16 years ago my wife and I stayed here and loved it. So when we returned with our 4 kids we choice it again, this time a 3 bedroom unit. Great tidy roomy and quiet. Owners and staf so helpful. Our kids loved it. Close to town and right on the waterfront. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank OmahaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Lakeside Motel in a very clean and comfortable room. Te Anau was our base for visiting Milford Sound (what an awesome drive) and for undertaking a day trip on Doubtful Sound (spectacular).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is the 2nd time we stayed with this motel. The 1st time we've been told that they've double booked our room to other people, so they've offered us a bigger room! 3 Bedroom standalone house for 3 of us. It was amazing. Then this time, we had a 2 bedroom unit booked for 3 of us for staying 1 night. It was unexpected that it is a standalone house also. It's lake front as promised, 2 story house. The house itself is not new, yet it is refurbished nicely. Modern kitchen and bathroom. Room itself is warm and comfortable to stay. It met all of my requirements and I am satisfied for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £60 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing