We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a good sleep, even the street is in front of the Hotel. But there is no traffic during the night. Good quality beds, units perfectly clean. The washbasin in the bathroom is way too small. Friendly and helpful service for tour bookings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Miguel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    159
    68
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
183
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in 1 bedroom apt. rooms are clean and comfortable. Stayed on the 1st floor, balcony is walk through for all the apts on the floor, not much privacy. Garden is lovely, motel is in great position overlooking the lake and within easy walking distance to town. Receptionist was lovely. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment with beds for 5.

Pros
Good price
Clean
Good location
Easy checkin
Acceptable wifi speeds

Cons
Tired
Lots of brown everywhere
Soft and wobbly beds.
Wifi limited to one device per room
Weird layout with two bathroom doors that could not be locked

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

i have never had a worse customer service experience in new zealand or any other country. we showed up late in the day with only a booking.com confirmation number. the receptionist told us we did not have a reservation. we thought there might have been a mix up as we had only booked the night before. she insisted she was not mistaken, she would not have had availability at the time we booked. she told us repeatedly that our booking.com problem was not her problem. when i asked if she could help us find a room, she flat out said, "no." she finally agreed to let us use her wifi so we could view the details of our reservation. as it turned out, we had booked at the lakeVIEW motel, next door, where we enjoyed great customer service and a nicer room. i know the room is nicer because our friends stayed at the lakeSIDE motel and i saw their room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodiGreg, Owner at Lakeside Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello worldtravelmatters

Thank you for your review. However, I do find it EXTREMELY Unfair!
I would like to thank your husband/partner for apologising and your lovely friends for their kind note and chocolates.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Rooms were modern comfortable and clean
Bed very comfortable and plenty of hot water
Strange arrangement with the toilet door - you couldn't open it all the way with the location of the toilet paper.

One machine in the laundry for the number of units was not enough - and perhaps some rules around taking your clothes out in a timely manner and the etiquette of waiting your turn for the machine would be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay in an upstairs room with lake views. The room was very well presented and clean. Loved the beautiful spacious gardens in which the motel is set and all the wonderful views from our room - morning reflections on the lake, lake shrouded in cloud and lifting up the mountains and a stunning sunset. What more could you want in a place to stay. The hosts were friendly and happy to accommodate our car whilst we did an overnight cruise. Also close to the shops so we walked to restaurants etc.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We are family of 5, found the upstairs unit to be lovely.
Quiet, peaceful, and tranquil.
Clean and tidy.
Just a little cramped in the bedroom and with the beds in the lounge.
Friendly hosts.
Trampoline for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valuetraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Property: Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing