We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I would like to thank Rob and his lovely wife for their hospitality and the fabulous accommodation they gave us at short notice. This was an awesome spot. by the time we arrived we were very tired and they were very accommodating and our room was huge and just what we needed to unwind. We were up early to Milford Sound the next day and when we got home they were there to help us out with a jack for the bike so we could oil the chain but unfortunately it was for a motorcross bike and we couldn't get it underneath. Got the washing dry too. Close to town we could walk and also a neat table and chairs across the road at the lake, great for that evening beer just to sit and plan the next stop. thanks again guys.
Cheers Andrew Fleming and Bronee Stanfield from Whitianga.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroneeAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the most beautiful lakes and a room with one the most beautiful views. Actually most of the motels around town have lake facing rooms. Separated bedroom from living room. Very close to the town center, 5 minutes walk by the lake to get there. Some of the best food that i had in NZ was here. Perfect stopover for a day to travel to Milford Sound.
Room was extremely small. No real place to walk around. Smallish bed. I have had bigger rooms at the same price in other places in NZ.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must if you are staying in Te Anau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyabratPadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hard to beat the wonderful views across to Lake Te Anau from these rooms. Units are a generous size and furnished in good taste. Great Fiordland pictures on the walls. Good sized bathrooms; and comfortable beds. Complex just a short 5 minute walk to town. Staff had been very friendly and efficient during the booking process earlier in the year but we found them to be a bit curt during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have brought groups of 12 friends to Te Anau for two years now, as a base for trekking, and Lakeside is by far the best lodging I have seen there. The rooms are huge, quiet and well appointed; facilities modern, the location is stunning (with views over the lake from every room), very convenient to town services and the Visitors' Centre, and Jodi is one of the most helpful and efficient proprietors I've ever worked with - she truly bent over backwards to assist us on multiple occasions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Te Anau. The Lakeside Motel was conveniently placed on the Lakeside Drive, just a few minutes from the centre of the small town of Te Anau. The apartment was comfortable and clean and well equipped. There is no doubt that on our tour of New Zealand the view from the apartment was the best we came across. Our hosts were helpful and listed their choice of restaurants in Te Anau. Should we ever visit again we would certainly consider a further stay at the Lakeside Motel.

Should you be motoring to Te Anau do take care on the Route 94 the Castlerock to Mossburn road, for there be Senior Constable David Cherry who lies in wait for you with his radar gun. He greeted me with a gruff "get this car off the road". His target is tourists to New Zealand who exceed the speed limit and drive on the wrong side of the road. I was deemed to be exceeding the limit and fined NZ$120.00 for my sin. The road is flat and straight and it easy to exceed the 100 kph in a car without cruise control. Do bear this in mind otherwise you may be stopped by one of New Zealand's finest in the rather portly shape of Dave. In fact you may make Dave's day! Please be warned.

Room Tip: When booking arrange to have an upstairs apartment, which gives a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. Pros are nice position, clean and spacious room with a good shower. Cons are... Toilet takes 30 mins to refill, only a few TV channels with mainly infomercials most times, heater in room almost as noisy as a lawnmower (this was changed to a less noisy unit), and a 1950's style basin with either scalding hot or icy cold water. The internet cut out due to a small allowance and was quite slow (NZ wide problem with mainly 3rd world internet) and impossible to download a video etc. Manager was also quite rude when I asked for the noisy heater to be fixed. We paid about double equivalent room in US or Australia and would have expected better TV, internet and hand basin. 3 star max.

Room Tip: Check items in room immediately after checking in, or inspect first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great location, 5 min walk to the main street. Set right on the lakeside. Room was very clean and had everything you would need. You get your own outside area with table and chairs. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £67 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing