We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Dunluce is a fabulous b&b. The hosts have given faultless attention to detail and were welcoming and accommodating. The room we stayed in was spotless and spacious, the views wonderful. If we were to pick on two negatives, they would be the fact that it's a couple of kilometers or so out of town, and although the rooms have small private patios, there was no seating for those areas, so we couldn't sit there and marvel at the sunset over the mountains. (Having said that, there was a small communal patio outside the breakfast room.)
All in all, we'd recommend Dunluce, if you have your own transportation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
206
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I will keep this brief:
Beautiful and very clean room: with an excellent bath / spa and a great view of the lake and mountains...very special indeed
Great toiletres that are of high quality
Great hosts: that leave you alone and yet seem to be close by when you do need them
Lovely touches: An umbrella when it is wet ...fresh cake in the dining room....good DVD's to take back to your room...chocolates left for guests just because they are nice.
Spare towels given to us to take on our Kyak trip.
Wine in the fridge for a nice glass (decent wine too!)
All in all: one the best B&B's I have stayed at and certainly worth every penny.
You would need a car to drive into town...but that makes it nice because it just far enough out of town to feel secluded and special.
I would highly reccomend

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed for two nights and would have been very happy to stay longer. Wendy and Brian are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. As the other reviewers have said, the breakfasts were excellent and the homemade cookies, etc., very welcome. I think the idea of complimentary wine should be adopted in the UK. We would definitely recommend Dunluce to anyone wanting to visit Fiordland. It made an excellent base for seeing the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This was the perfect bed and breakfast. In fact, I loved this place so much that I want to build a house just like Roger and Wendy's! Exceptionally well laid out with very private accomodations. But a great gathering room with a large table for visiting (and always fresh cookies for our enjoyment)...and enjoying the delectable breakfasts that Wendy cooked for us. Even at 5 a.m.!! And Roger was the perfect host, engaging in conversation, but not overbearing. We highly recommend this delightful inn and give thumbs up to our lovely hosts. A true gem!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank world1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this excellent B&B. Very comfortable room with large bed, spa bath and great views. Complimentary tea/coffee/wine and free use on the laptop added to the attraction but the best was yet to come when we tasted the great breakfast prepared by Wendy. Te Anau centre is a short drive away and the recommendation to visit the cinema to view the Fiordland 30 min film was a plus. Overall we rated this in our top 3 stays in New Zealand.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 4barley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We like to stay in B&Bs as we find the service to be more personal than hotels or motels and the owners more knowledgeable about the area. Never could this be truer than at Dunluce. Roger and Wendy are super hosts

There are facilities for guests, such as a fridge and laptop, but best of all are Wendy's breakfasts and home baked treats.

We had a great stay here and are happy to recommend Dunluce to other tripadvisors.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threebritsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

There are many B&B in Te Anau but also a few hotels. Wendy and Roger, especially Wendy who is a wonderful cook, are nice hosts and they keep their B&B clean and cosy, with a free computer as well as a DVD player in each room and some DVDs to borrow; rooms have beautiful lake views and are very quiet. Only inconvenients are location (too far from the city centre if you do not have a car) and the rooms are neither big (really small twin beds) or well insulated (one can hear a drop of water falling into the shower of your own bathroom). We stayed afterwards in one of the hotels in town (the Kinsgate hotel) that is right in the centre and, more or less for the same price as in Dunluce, we had a much bigger room as well as 2 queen big beds.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgiumFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Address: Aparima Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunluce Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunluce is a new boutique b&b with a private guest wing of 4 king ensuite rooms and a private guest lounge/dining room. The ensuites feature underfloor heating, lavender toiletries, hair dryers and fluffy towels. All rooms are lake facing and open to private decks. Included in the tariff is a delicious home made breakfast both cooked and continental. We offer off street parking, locked storage, laundry facilities, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunluce Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce Hotel Te Anau
Dunluce b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing