We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and comfy”
Review of Parklands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parklands Motel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The moment I entered the room, I could not help being impressed by the general sense of cleanliness and quality. The pictures on their website do not do justice to this, the place is actually much better than how it looks in the pictures.

We took a one bedroom apartment. The unit was spacious. The furnishings, bedding, washroom, kitchen utensils, and appliances were basic but clean and of great quality. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a stopover on the way to Milford sound.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Very clean and well presented motel. Just a short walk across a park to the main shopping street and food outlets. Friendly helpful staff. Will definately use again, if I return to the town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Very clean and quiet. 5mins walk to lake, town center. 1min from the main road to Midford Sound. Does not have full kitchen equip, but has Microwave and toster. Very convenient to Fresh Food grocery. The town is the tourist town. There are a lot of motels aroud the town along the lake. For the price range, if you can find one with kitchen equip, that will be plus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li000044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The location is good, about 2 minutes drive to the town centre. Fresh milk was given when we checked in. But, no milk for subsequent days. Parking was great as we can park our car just in front of the room.

We stayed in standard queen studio unit for 3 nights. The room was clean, well equipped with heater and electric blanket. Hair dryer was provided upon request. There was a long sofa with a coffee table. However, kitchen which equipped with all sorts of kitchenware was shared with others.

It’s a nice place to stay, but we just don’t like the bathroom. The floor of the shower area was not separated, nor it be blocked to avoid water running to other area. So the floor of the whole bathroom will get wet after bathing. No shower cap was provided, please bring it along if you need one. However, we like the tap water (both in the bathroom and the kitchen) where the hot and cold water were combined in one tap. It’s easily adjusted to the water temperature we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leesimpang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Could not fault anything. Super clean rooms and shared kitchen with everything you needed. Definitively value for money and walking distance to town center, just across a nice park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schatzieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

First off I have to say this place had some of the best facilities in room of any motel you're likely to find anywhere in NZ in the price range. Very comfortable, well equipped rooms.

However, we booked the Parklands specifically because the advert on the booking website said there was a guest kitchen. It costs alot of money to eat out healthily when you're touring NZ so we predominately book places where we can cook ourselves. On arriving though we were told that the kitchen was closed for the winter and not available for the room we had booked anyway. This was not clear on the website and the description was extremely misleading. The staff there were very friendly and nice, however I didn't receive an apology or an offer of an alternative, so we had to fork out money to eat out. Since then they have changed the description on the website to say the kitchen is closed and only available to certain rooms. This is of no consolation to us as we're out of pocket and didn't feel the managers were particularly sympathetic to the fact.

As a result I have to mark it down in the rating due to the overall experience as we feel a bit ripped off, despite the fact it was one of the better places we've stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sam_rockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stood with my wife and baby daughter in Parklands Motel and everything was arranged in advance of our arrival, including the baby crib we requested before. Location is nice, with a pleasant walk through a park to get to the main street of Te Anau. The units have a fully equiped kitchen and parking is free, both important for us at that point. The staff (family that owns the place) was helpful in providing guidance for us and also arranged a boat tour for us in Milford Sound, what proved to be very handy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#21 of 22 in Te Anau
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motel

Address: 16 Mokoroa St., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parklands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing