We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really grrrreat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parklands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parklands Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really grrrreat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Stayd for 2 nights and it was really great. The owner was nice. The location is a 5 min walk to city center or à 5 min walk to the beatiful lake.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micke80_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    73
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our group stayed in two different rooms - both were comfortable

The first was a double with no cooking facilities. It was towards the back of the motel and clean and comfortable. There was a share kitchen/dining area for these units.

The second was a one bedroom apartment towards the front of the motel - this was larger and had good cooking facilities.

The owner was really helpful - showed us around both rooms, made sure we were comfortable, explained how we could move the beds.

The bathroom is looking a wee bit tired - but it was clean, comfortable, spacious and warm and not overly expensive. TV in the apartment was a wee bit small compared to TVs in similar rooms elsewhere. Everything was in easy walking distance.

We had no mould, friendly help and a comfortable stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Clean, friendly, comfortable and convenient before starting a morning journey to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at Parklands twice for a single night before and after hiking the Kepler Track - both times in Unit 7. My choice was largely based on Trip Advisor reviews, since there are a lot of options in Te Anau but nothing that really stood out to me. With that said, I had low expectations going into my visit.

On the positive side, this is a very basic motel, but the room was generally clean (but dated) and provided a decent place to stay the night. The studio unit was a decent size. There are very basic satellite TV options - about 7 channels. The kitchenette setup was handy. The shower provided plenty of hot water and the heater worked. The owner also graciously held a bag until I returned from my hike. The location is also fairly central (although Te Anau is so small) - about a 5 minute walk to Subway, 7-10 min walk to the main town area, and about a 15 min walk to the DOC.

On the negative side, there is mold in the bathroom ceiling (which is one of those things that just freaks me out). The laundry room (one washer, one dryer - both $2 per use) is a dark, dank pit that desperately needs to be cleaned. The property as a whole, while maintained, could really be spruced up a bit and easily just made to be a bit more attractive. I was also annoyed by the 10am checkout time, which struck me as ridiculously early; but I have since learned that the time is not exclusive to this property. Wifi is an extra $5 for an hour.

I have to agree with others' comments about the management. The manager wasn't rude or overtly unfriendly, but he wasn't really helpful or outgoing either. I was left with the impression that they just wanted you in and out with a minimum of fuss or interaction. Like another recent reviewer said, "There is nothing really wrong, but nothing was great either."

Bottom line, for the price I paid compared to what I received, and given the number of options in Te Anau, I'd look elsewhere before booking at Parklands, which I'd keep in the "last resort" column.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed - due to the recommendations of Tripadvisor - at this motel and due to the booking even for 2 nights. Our room was a remembrance of the 70s. Unfortunately, not in the state of the 70s, but with a usage of another 40 years. The only good thing was the clean bed. Whenever I thought during the day of having to return to this place, I tried to push the thought away. The motel requires urgent renovation (e.g. the 40 years old wallpaper, table, chairs, carpet and disgustingly used sofa). Also the hospitality was totally restrained: everywhere signs that you have to pay extra for something (e.g. for a cup of milk, for a coffee-bag - with two nights we only got one coffee-bag in total...). Only when we wanted to leave, the landlord became a sort of friendly and tried to smile a bit. That's not enough to advice anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0RLDWIDETRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a very basic but perfectly adequate motel. If you are looking for a clean, central place to crash, this is a fine motel. Our room had a full kitchen, two beds, a couch, a coffee table and kitchen table.

If you are looking for any kind of extra luxuries, then you will want to look for another location. This venue was missing little things that I did miss over the three days we were there – there were no tissues, no full length mirror, no screens on the windows – and the décor, while clean, looked a little worn and dated. We also had issues with some of the outlets not working. But there was nothing that would keep me from recommending this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The room was clean but furniture is tired and needs replacing. The same goes for the crockery and the kitchen fittings. It's in a good location but there are many others around which present better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motel

Property: Parklands Motel
Address: 16 Mokoroa St., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parklands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing