We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Thank you so much in contributing towards one of our best Christmas Holidays ever. Your holiday home was perfect in every way for having 8 adults and 1 child staying there. It was clean, spacious and I loved the set up with 2 bathrooms, showers, toilets and the four bedrooms. It had everything there that we needed including location, plenty of outdoor parking for the boat and 3 vehicles and also the BBQ and outdoor seating that was used daily. Congratulations Tinny and Graeme on yet again another amazing facility. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place was one of the best cottages in all our stays throughout the South Island. It offered excellent value for money. I love the fact that the facilities it offers is modern and it has pots big enough for me to cook for my family of 7. Most other places come with small pots and pans and its impossible to prepare any decent meal with those puny pots most other places provide.

The inverter airconditioning was really welcome. Most places only offer heating but the inverter aircon allows a constant temperature to be set which is very helpful. I wished we had the time to stay longer and I wish all the other places we stayed in was as large and well appointed as this one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any holiday is as good as you want to make it. ITs all in your mind and it has little and nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiEn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

If we owned a holiday house, we would like it to be exactly like Accommodation Fiordland. Our family of six, including two adult children, found the cottage to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and with everything we could possibly need. We were particularly pleased that there were two bathrooms, a full kitchen with a large dining table and a large capacity washing machine. On a perfect summer evening, we cooked on the barbecue and then ate our dinner at the picnic table on the well-tended back lawn. Te Anau has a great supermarket and other shops with lots of fresh local produce. Everyone seemed very friendly, especially at Accommodation Fiordland. We hope to return - lots of walks left to experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane067_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had stayed in batch cottage for two nights and enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage ..having stayed at number of motels during our trip , we really wanted a change and we booked batch cottage and were happy that we made a right decision .cottage was just 2 minute drive to te anau town centre . There were ample number of room heaters , although we were just two .apart from room heaters , electric blankets were also provided .complimentary wifi was a bonus .Had a comfortable stay here .would definately recommend .It was amongst our top 3 accomodation , we have stayed in for our entire Nz trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I don't understand why this accommodation was ranked so high by others. To be fair I don't have experience staying in other places at Te Anau but I did visit other towns in the South Island (eg Dunedin & Christchurch) where I could get a nicer holiday house and pay less. The bedrooms here don't even have an appropriate wardrobe or hangers to hang your clothes. Everything is dated here. I guess the house hasn't been renovated for over 20 years. The garden is nice and the location is quiet though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinny D, Owner at Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We have 100% positive reviews from many previous guests. Our advertising photos show exactly what the house is like when you book ... it is unlikely that the house would change to a 5 star resort in the few weeks since we confirmed your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our extended family of 7 enjoyed 2 nights here in January. The house is really well set up for families and groups and has plenty of outdoor space as well. We barbequed and ate outside which was lovely with the mountain views.Beds are good as are bathrooms. Kitchen is very user friendly . All was spotlessly clean.Tinny was extremely helpful and friendly.The location is very handy to shops and the town centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklab2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were two couples, and we stayed in the three bedrooms cottage.
We had two full bathrooms, washing machine and a a drier, beautiful yard with a big table, all just for us. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook at home.
As opposed to the other places we stayed in, you don't have to pay extras for the washing machine, the soap, the internet...
It is just 10 minutes walk to down town, and pleasant walk

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaffa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages

Property: Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages
Address: 222 Milford Road | 226 A/B Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cozy, private, reasonably priced self-contained cottages - 'The Batch' a two bedroom studio cottage (1-4) and a 'the Three Bedroom House' fully self contained cottage (7) - a six minute walk to the town centre. All linen is provided and towels renewed daily when required. To find us on the internet try searching 'Tinny Dainty' or 'Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages'. Relax in the evening with a drink on the deck in the park like setting after a busy day exploring Fiordland. See exterior and interior photos of your cottage when you book and know exactly what you are getting - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing