We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unit in a beautiful location”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great unit in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This motel occupies a beautiful location, just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Te Anau. The open-access lakefront is immediately across the road, along with the DOC visitor centre.

Our ground floor studio unit was modern, spotless, and well laid out. The complementary wifi worked well. Despite the property being on two storeys, and the units fairly narrow, we were not disturbed by other guests moving around.

Our unit was at the Lakeside Drive end of the property; there was a little road noise, but there was practically no traffic at night so this was not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    48
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Don't bother with the flashier places near the centre of Te Anau, but come here instead, right opposite the DOC office. Fantastic friendly welcome, and accommodation of our individual needs. Extremely clean with well-equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very pleasant room. Our upstairs unit had a small balcony, a plus over the rooms on the ground floor. The kitchen area was very small, and the workspace was cramped, but everything was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the main street where there were numerous restaurants and shops. Loved the location and the peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamas, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a wonderful 4 days at the Red Tussock Motel. It was perfect for our needs. The studio apartment was clean, well organized and stocked with all the " bits and bobs" as Vivian would say it, that we needed. The location is just across the street from the lake. All the properties on Lakefront Drive in Te Anau are across the street, because the City has placed a walking and nature preserve on the Lake side. Waking up to ducks quacking, for us was a treat. We don't have ducks close to our home so we don't get to hear them much. The gentleman next door feeds them, so they are in the park morning and night waiting for him. Jane and Vivian were very pleasant and helpful in directing us around town and Jane can hook you up for any of the local tours. Not to mention, they have awesome smiles and they love sweet treats.
Thanks for everything ladies. Hopefully, we will see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Red Tussock is in Te Anau, and was used for us as a stopping off place prior to the drive to Milford Sound. The town is the last outpost before the challenging drive to the Sound. The property is well fitted out with kitchenette, free wifi and maybe a 50 yard walk to the beautiful lakefront walk. The Town Centre is maybe a 15 minute walk, and once there you'll find shopping, restaurants and two markets. Accommodations are well designed and seemingly new. TV choices are the usual low number of accessible channels for New Zealand - makes you miss America's unlimited channel selection ( for a price, of course). A good and reasonably priced property. Our only caveat was because we arrived first, we were assigned the first room to be cleaned, which put us next to the lakefront drive, so traffic noise was an issue. Still, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was very clean and quite spacious. Free Wi-Fi Internet was included. The standard studio had cooking facilities and we took the opportunity to prepare some home cooked meals during our stay. Jane was very helpful in sorting out some tours after the road to MIlford sound was blocked by a rock slide. This was by far the best accommodation we booked during our stay in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for two niights although we were thinking in only one. Really quiet and in front of the lake, we got a good rest after the Milford track there.
I would recommend it for the price, we got extra milk and good internet connection.
The room was quite big and we managed to restablish our backpacks in a better way. Really near the Fiorland park visitor centre although we stayed in the camping nearby before the Milford.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Property: Red Tussock Motel
Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing