We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed one night at the "Too sacks" and have no complaints about the place. It was clean, the room was in good condition and the staff we met was friendly and helpful. It does not have a lake view like other motels so you may be able to get that for the same price at another motel. We we a little worried about noise since our room way below another. But as I have said in another review kiwi's and other foreign visitor seem to be a respectful lot and we have had no problems with noisy neighbors so far. Also there is a very nice pie place in too adjacent to the fuel station on town centre road just in from the lake. Avoid the rancher bar. Expensive. Do the Moose at happy hour. Moose? They don't even have those in NZ! Lucky for them!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We chose Te Anau as a base to travel to Milford Sound. Red Tussock wasclean and decent but it was older compared to other motels that we have stayed in in south island. It was at the edge of Lake Te Anau so you will not get the direct lake view although it is a 2-minute walk to the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and well maintained. Nice kitchen with everything you might need. Wifi worked great which is not always the case in this part of New Zealand. The walking trail along the lake which goes for miles is right across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyMountainMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

11 of us stayed 2 nights, managment went out of thier way to help us. nothing was a bother. fantastic unit for 7 and the rest next door. big tick from us.
Bikers, you cant go wrong here. not to far from town center, across road from lake. nice and quiet as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Te Anau is a small resort and Red Tussock is about 1km from the centre, so easily walkable. We were greeted by Nadine at reception who was very helpful. Our room was on an upper level so we had a view of the lake from an outside balcony. The room was clean, tidy and well appointed, including a small kitchen area. The shower was really good. The wall mounted TV had the usual channels and WIFi worked well. We stayed three nights and can recommend not just the area, but this motel in particular.

Room Tip: To see the lake you need to be upper level at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

we had a wonderful stay the room was large and had a balcony with a view of the water. the owner could not have been more helpful and acomodating the town was close and there were nice places to eat nearby

Room Tip: ask for the4 rooms with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertheathcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at The Red Tussock Motel for 2 nights and we found the motel's location to be ideal. Our unit was comfortable and very clean, with full cooking facilities and a spacious layout. We were close to the city centre and just yards from the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tussock Motel is on Te Anau lakefront but has limited views from the Apartments of the lake as we are only at the beginning of the road but just walk across the road and the lake is an amazing and peaceful place to sit. We currently have 12 Apartments from Studio to a 3 Bedroom Apartment but by 2018/2019 Summer Season we will have 20 Apartments with 8 Apartments under Construction currently. We offer to our guests friendly service with a homely style and great local knowledge of the area plus most places in NZ. Come and stay 2-3 days as we have more than enough to keep you busy in Te Anau NZ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing