We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with nice host”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is definitely an impressive stay during our jouney in south island. We've been give a whole storey. The view through the kitchen is quiet and comfort. Robin, our host has always been helpful. He waited us and gave us a warm welcome the day we came which was about 8 p.m. Also, he taught us a lot useful things.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The generous reviews led us to staying here as a launching point for Milford Sound. We were a bit disappointed by the aged room that we had, and it was one of the "better" rooms. This part of the country is so beautiful that a stopover in this town is necessary. I"d take a chance with another establishment next time.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The owner was great and the unit was very clean and comfortable. There is a laundry facility on-site for a fee, but DON'T open the dryer mid-cycle since it won't restart. The owner recommended an afternoon hike to Shallow Bay and it was gorgeous and gave us a chance to stretch our legs after the long drive.
Our main reason for going to Te Anau was to see Milford Sound, but unfortunately the road was closed. There are trips to Doubtful and Milford from Te Anau by bus or sea plane also, but we decided not to splurge and instead voted to return at a later date since we loved NZ.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RachelU178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

modern, clean, tidy, warm. reasonable space and facilities. had a balcony looking onto the mountains, right near the lake and the department of conservation if you're catching a bus to any of the hiking tracks its an ideal location... about a ten minute walk to the main shops , carpark available.
had an upstairs room.
catches the afternoon sun nicely...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was our second choice of motel in Te Anau as the one we wanted, facing the lake, was full. We were not, however, disappointed as our second choice proved to be extremely good. Accommodation was spacious and well appointed, the kitchen facilities very good, Jane the manager was so helpful and informative, making us feel very much at home. Good base for Doubtful Sound, the walking tracks etc, Free Wifi

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferCashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Found The Tussock while searching for accommodations for the night before heading out to do the Milford Track. It is right across the street from the Dept. of Conservation where you pick up tickets & catch the bus to do the Great Walk. What could be more convenient??

Jane, the manager, was friendly & super-efficient. Rooms were clean & spacious (good for gear sorting) with a kitchenette for a quick breakfast before walking over to catch our bus.

Located almost on Lake Te Anau, the walk along the shore to restaurants and grocery store was lovely.

We were so happy with our stay, we reserved a room for the night we returned from the trek. The bus driver dropped us right at the motel.

By the way, the Milford Track is one of the world's most highly rated trails & did not disappoint! Look it up!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper. (I am the only one of the four of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Like most people, we used Te Anau as a base camp for the area. As such, this was in the middle of our trip and we were there for a while - so it was a pleasant surprise to have such a large and well appointed room to spread out in.

The shower was particularly great (although the bathroom was a little cosy). The wifi was the best we experienced on our trip (totally free, and a strong signal).

The location is fine - a short stroll into the main part of town along the lake (usually windy in the early evening).

Washing facilities were excellent ... oh and you are over the road from access to the Kepler Track and the DOC office.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tussock Motel is on Te Anau lakefront but has limited views from the Apartments of the lake as we are only at the beginning of the road but just walk across the road and the lake is an amazing and peaceful place to sit. We currently have 12 Apartments from Studio to a 3 Bedroom Apartment but by 2018/2019 Summer Season we will have 20 Apartments with 8 Apartments under Construction currently. We offer to our guests friendly service with a homely style and great local knowledge of the area plus most places in NZ. Come and stay 2-3 days as we have more than enough to keep you busy in Te Anau NZ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing