We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality in a peaceful environment!”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a great place to stay! Right across the road from the lake - and a short walk from town! What really makes this an excellent Motel is Robin. He takes the time to make sure everything is perfect. The large living room and kitchenette along with a large bedroom and walk-in shower - gave us a chance to kick back and relax!
Robin is an excellent host and went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of! The place is very quiet and very clean! This is a 5 star location!!!
Thanks Robin!!!

Room Tip: There is a nice park and path along the lake that leads to town. Great place to watch the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon for one night on our way to Milford Sound. The manager, Robin, made our experience memorable. He really went the extra mile to make us feel special. He genuinely seemed to care about our celebration and even stocked our room with a bottle of champagne before our arrival. He was also extremely knowledgable about Milford Sound and gave us excellent advice for booking a boat cruise and for avoiding bus traffic on the way in and out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MF_Surfside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

A large group of us stayed over New Years 13/14 just after doing the Milford track. The room/house we rented we large to accommodate all of us at a reasonable cost!
The owner could not do enough for us, he really made our stay! He let us do an enormous amount of washing in his commercial laundry and was happy with additional guests. I would recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8tbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is situated very closely to the Te Anau Town Centre and is in a great location for all the activities out of Te Anau. From here, we took the Glow Worm Caves tour organised by Real Journeys which you have to book in advanced. It’s a short leisurely walk along the lake from the motel to the town centre. If not, you can also drive which we did.

Checking in wasn’t a problem. The receptionist was very nice and showed us our motel room. We were staying in room one and the room was very spacious. It managed to accommodate both our huge luggage and enough walking space for us to traverse from the door to the bathroom. Hot water was readily available and cooking facilities were small but sufficient.

Wifi was also available and fast. Comfortable for a one night stay. Will be back again if staying in Te Anau. Overall 4 stars for this motel.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms that will give you a nice view of the surrounding garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Incredible service, no problem was too big or too hard for Robin. Accommodated our needs (all 12 of us!) quickly and efficiently with no fuss at all- regularly identifying ways to make our stay easier and enjoyable. Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LRBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The owner was more than helpful, room was clean, tidy, simple but had everything we needed including basic cooking items . Is a nice walk along the lake from the town centre. Would happily stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lewis_edwardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is comfortable lodging, perfectly located near the lake. The manager, Robin, is more than helpful, and his friendly service alone makes this place worth staying during your time in Te Anau. We stayed just one night but would have loved to stay more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £91 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tussock Motel is on Te Anau lakefront but has limited views from the Apartments of the lake as we are only at the beginning of the road but just walk across the road and the lake is an amazing and peaceful place to sit. We currently have 12 Apartments from Studio to a 3 Bedroom Apartment but by 2018/2019 Summer Season we will have 20 Apartments with 8 Apartments under Construction currently. We offer to our guests friendly service with a homely style and great local knowledge of the area plus most places in NZ. Come and stay 2-3 days as we have more than enough to keep you busy in Te Anau NZ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing