We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay.”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked this motel via Bookings.com several months in advance. We decide that the original booking was too short so ran Motel to extend stay. This was done with no problem.
When we arrived we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a larger room. It had everything a couple could want. The rooms were spotless.
Robin, the manager, welcomed us on arrival and could not do enough for us. Very helpful with advice about the area.
Motel is situated a very easy and pleasant walk via the lake fore shore, from the centre of town.
Visitor/information centre just across the road.
Te Anau is a lovely and friendly town. It is the stepping off point for Milford sound and a lot of other attractions.
I highly recommend a stay in this beautiful town and Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom space here for one night. It was clean, warm, affordable, and had nice beds. It is older but still very nice. Our one suggestion would be to put in an outlet in the bathroom and add a fan, but those things aren't that important, the room was still great. The host, Robin, was fantastic. He made sure the room was warm when we arrived and gave us all kinds of help with our hike along the Milford Track- like telling us where to get the bus, the weather coming up, and where to park our car. Can't thank him enough for all his help. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were greeted by the host, Robin, who was in a hurry as he was still cleaning rooms. He was welcoming, but gave us a lot of information in a very short space of time which led to some miscommunication on checkout procedures.
We were put into what we think had, at one stage, been the owners/managers upstairs accommodation. Three bedrooms (2 x singles and 1 x double), big living room, dining room, big kitchen and a balcony. There was also a double bed in the living room.
The location was good. A short walk into the main street and shops and just across the road from the lake.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Although clean, unfortunately there is no sound proofing between the units and I was unable to sleep until after midnight. I tried to wake the manager Robin at 11.30 pm with no result and Informed him the next morning and said he was working on a fix. However this didn't help my stay and he didn't offer any compensation, just wanted the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the downstairs rooms unless you want to risk sleepless night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Red Tussock is excellent value for money. The location is good, the units are clean and comfortable, and the wi-fi works wonderfully. Best of all, though, is the motel's manager, Robin - he is wonderful, and makes sure that every guest feels absolutely welcome. He remembers each guest's name and plans for the day... absolutely remarkable! We will return to the Red Tussock!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Red Tussock ticks all the boxes: good value for money, clean, comfy beds, walking distance to town etc etc. It's real point of difference is the Manager, Robin. He is super helpful, generous with his time and you feel really looked after. He even gave me some Epsom Salts cos he could see I had sore feet from tramping and wow was that bath great.

Room Tip: Ground floor for a bath.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JodiWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A very well kept establishment. It is sort of on the edge of Te Anau but then the town is not that big. Robin, the manager is very helpful and well informed. You can get a better lake view but then you'll pay more also, good value for money in my opinion. Everything was super neat and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
518 reviews
0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £76 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Tussock Motel is on Te Anau lakefront but has limited views from the Apartments of the lake as we are only at the beginning of the road but just walk across the road and the lake is an amazing and peaceful place to sit. We currently have 12 Apartments from Studio to a 3 Bedroom Apartment but by 2018/2019 Summer Season we will have 20 Apartments with 8 Apartments under Construction currently. We offer to our guests friendly service with a homely style and great local knowledge of the area plus most places in NZ. Come and stay 2-3 days as we have more than enough to keep you busy in Te Anau NZ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing