We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay.”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked this motel via Bookings.com several months in advance. We decide that the original booking was too short so ran Motel to extend stay. This was done with no problem.
When we arrived we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a larger room. It had everything a couple could want. The rooms were spotless.
Robin, the manager, welcomed us on arrival and could not do enough for us. Very helpful with advice about the area.
Motel is situated a very easy and pleasant walk via the lake fore shore, from the centre of town.
Visitor/information centre just across the road.
Te Anau is a lovely and friendly town. It is the stepping off point for Milford sound and a lot of other attractions.
I highly recommend a stay in this beautiful town and Motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    48
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
95
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom space here for one night. It was clean, warm, affordable, and had nice beds. It is older but still very nice. Our one suggestion would be to put in an outlet in the bathroom and add a fan, but those things aren't that important, the room was still great. The host, Robin, was fantastic. He made sure the room was warm when we arrived and gave us all kinds of help with our hike along the Milford Track- like telling us where to get the bus, the weather coming up, and where to park our car. Can't thank him enough for all his help. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were greeted by the host, Robin, who was in a hurry as he was still cleaning rooms. He was welcoming, but gave us a lot of information in a very short space of time which led to some miscommunication on checkout procedures.
We were put into what we think had, at one stage, been the owners/managers upstairs accommodation. Three bedrooms (2 x singles and 1 x double), big living room, dining room, big kitchen and a balcony. There was also a double bed in the living room.
The location was good. A short walk into the main street and shops and just across the road from the lake.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Although clean, unfortunately there is no sound proofing between the units and I was unable to sleep until after midnight. I tried to wake the manager Robin at 11.30 pm with no result and Informed him the next morning and said he was working on a fix. However this didn't help my stay and he didn't offer any compensation, just wanted the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the downstairs rooms unless you want to risk sleepless night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Red Tussock is excellent value for money. The location is good, the units are clean and comfortable, and the wi-fi works wonderfully. Best of all, though, is the motel's manager, Robin - he is wonderful, and makes sure that every guest feels absolutely welcome. He remembers each guest's name and plans for the day... absolutely remarkable! We will return to the Red Tussock!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Red Tussock ticks all the boxes: good value for money, clean, comfy beds, walking distance to town etc etc. It's real point of difference is the Manager, Robin. He is super helpful, generous with his time and you feel really looked after. He even gave me some Epsom Salts cos he could see I had sore feet from tramping and wow was that bath great.

Room Tip: Ground floor for a bath.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodiWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A very well kept establishment. It is sort of on the edge of Te Anau but then the town is not that big. Robin, the manager is very helpful and well informed. You can get a better lake view but then you'll pay more also, good value for money in my opinion. Everything was super neat and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Property: Red Tussock Motel
Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing