We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in Te Anua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We are a family of six and Loch Vista was a perfect stop after our journeys through Doubtful Sound. We needed creature comforts, warm beds, hot showers, space to spread out and laundry facilities. Pam's place has all of it. She is welcoming and the house is incredible clean and well taken care of. You are close to town to grab a bite or her kitchen has everything if you feel like staying in and cooking yourself. Loch Vista is a home away from home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank packerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for staying at 'Loch Vista' It was awesome how all the teenagers from our families played basketball and American football on the lawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Loch Vista and loved it! The room was very nice, the view is just great amd the croissant for breakfast yummy ;-)
Pam is such a nice host and helped us planning our activities in Te Anau/Milford Sound, making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakara333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent two very nights enjoying the home comforts and thoughtful care provided by Pam. We had a queen room with en suite, small frig, tea-making facilities and small TV and a lovely view (made the more special by an unseasonal fresh fall of snow). The well-appointed kitchen, dining room and lounge (complete with large TV) and a good internet service are available to all guests. Pam's enthusiasm, good service - she even did our laundry while we were out - and helpful advice enabled us to also enjoy the best that Te Anau has to offer. We were delighted that i-site Christchurch had recommended both Te Anau and Loch Vista as our base for an excursion to Doubtful Sound and would highly recommend both to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Particularly suited to families, small groups of friends and those who like to do their own cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at Loch Vista and it was just wonderful ! The new owner Pam made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. The house is extra clean and every room has an unobstructed and beautiful view of Lake Te Anau and the snow capped mountains. Pam also assisted with the booking for the Milford Sound tour with a local tour operator, Southern Discoveries who were very good- they picked us up and dropped us back right at the Loch Vista doorstep! Also, the restaurant that Pam suggested and helped to make a reservation, the Redcliff Cafe, was superb! Pam is the perfect host - wish our stay was longer at Loch Vista!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lotusflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the pleasure of being the new owner Pam's first guests at Loch Vista. Our experience was simply exceptional. Its nice to know that such wonderful places (Te Anau) and people (Pam) exist in the world. We arrived on a very blustery day late in the afternoon, and the transformation from the wild winds outside to the tranquility inside with a roaring fireplace and freshly baked muffins was pure bliss. We felt at home immediately.

Pam provides a continental breakfast with freshly baked croissants daily, a wonderful way to start the day. Whilst enjoying breakfast we picked Pam's encyclopaedic knowledge on things to do in the area. It was great to have a real local kiwi to talk to, we really enjoyed the accent and the local vernacular (being australian).

We got sick of eating out every day whilst on holiday and took advantage of the self catering facilities on offer (a fully equipped kitchen) for our evening meals. Guests also have access to a shared large living area with heating and the fireplace mentioned earlier. There are also out door settings accessible from the guests rooms.

The view from the room and the living areas is heavenly, this is what attracted us to Loch Vista. Its a great base to explore this region of New Zealand. The town is a 8 minute drive away so you are very close to all the amenities but still can enjoy the tranquility of Loch Vista's location.

Pam was hand rearing an orphaned calf, and she gave us the opportunity to feed it on our last day. I don't know if travel accommodation gets better than this, our next stop was the Sofitel Queenstown and we were really missing 'Loch Vista' our home away from home.

Room Tip: Go for the large king room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomerangtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and the time spent to write it.
It was so exciting to have such a lovely couple as our first guests.
We are pleased that you appreciated the warm welcome and heavenly views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We simply loved our three night stay at Viv's B&B. My wife was suffering from a sore bacterial skin infection and Viv's sympathy and her magic cream made a big difference. Viv also booked our coach trip to Milford Sound and managed to persuade the driver to pick us up from the end of the drive.
Even if there hadn't been that terrific view of Lake Te Anau, we would have enjoyed just being in Viv's company. Also her cooked breakfasts were brilliant.
La Dolce Vita was Viv's recommendation for an electric Italian restaurant(more like a school hall) where the staff move at a record breaking pace.
Te Anau has a lovely lake front where you can park free to eat your fish & chips. An excellent walk starts at Rainbow Reach down a dirt track off the Manapouri road. The path crosses the river on a swing bridge, then in an hour and a half brings you to Shallw Beach, a Man Friday empty beach at the eastern end of Lake Manapouri. You can make your own seat from the drift wood and sit in peace listening to the sonorous birdcalls - no biting insects when we were there in Feb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBHighWycombeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Loch Vista was our last B & B in a marvelous 17-day tour of the South Island, and it was superb, as most of the B & B places were. Owner Viv Nicholson treated the four of us as if we were favored relatives and not just paying guests. The view from her hilltop location was spectacular and the breakfasts were generous and special. All in all, a great way to finish a trip on this magical, warm and friendly country.
Four guests from Chicago

Room Tip: My tip is to have a terrific friend who is talented in choosing excellent places to stay as our trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
5.3 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#4 of 30 in Te Anau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation

Address: 454 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £264 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fiordland and Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation. We are located on a small, rural property on the way to Milford Sound, just 5 km from Te Anau. Loch Vista overlooks Lake Te Anau and the Murchison Mountains and offers stunning panoramic views. You can relax in comfort and enjoy the ever changing scenery and starry night skies. Our family home is located within walking distance from Loch Vista and we are available for tips on local activities. Pam and Guy Turnbull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing