We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, friendly, welcoming - just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Apologies to those familiar with this sort of homestay/B&B accommodation, but for those like me who weren't, a couple of crucial points. At Loch Vista you are essentially staying in a house, which you share with other guests. On one hand, it is as far as you can get from a big, corporate 5-star hotel (which I would normally stay in for both business and pleasure, but which really don't exist in this part of NZ) - no uniformed staff, no room service, no anonymity. And it would be pretty difficult not to interact with others staying there as well as the owner - so if you are anti-social, perhaps better avoided. On the other hand, it is equal to the best hotels I've stayed in - very clean, good-sized rooms, stunning views and tremendously welcoming. So how you feel about Loch Vista will very much depend on what you're comfortable with. Pam is a great host, baking fresh cakes, muffins, and even leaving a couple of bottles of wine for the guests. She is very chatty, a font of local knowledge, with great recommendations for restaurants in the town. (Her friend Janet sometimes covers for her - she too is a superb hostess). This place is a good example of the New Zealand laid-back approach to life, and undoubtedly homely and relaxing. It would be a great setting for a big family get-together where you could rent out the whole property. I would very happily return - as would my parents.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a small B&B in which host Pam makes you feel right at home - very relaxed and friendly. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and warm, the kitchen was modern (and we were made very welcome to use it) and the lounge room devine with the wood fire (lit by Pam or Guy each night) making things very snug. And to top it all off there are stunning views from every window. Absolutely priceless. Will be recommending to everyone I know :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Awesome vista from this well appointed and modern B&B !! Real nice/spacious kitchen and lounge area for the 2 or 3 rooms that are part of this B&B.
Plenty of personal attention from the owner Pam who is very knowledgable on the area. This might be a little pricier than some other options in the area, but it is well worth it ! Short drive into Te Anau make it very convenient to get dinner it town. Very good quality breakfast provided.

Room Tip: Rata Room has a better view to the lake, but with the lounge room and kitchen eating area it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying with Pam at her lovely bnb. I couldn't rate her higher in any level of service, friendliness and welcome, and will definitely plan to go back when I'm next in NZ! The house has a fantastic panoramic view of Lake Te Anau, and is only a short distance from town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beau L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the 'Loch Vista' panoramic views. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Myself and 3 of my friends stayed at Loch Vista and were treated with nothing but kindness from Pam and Guy! We had the most amazing stay and spent 2 nights relaxing, cooking & taking in the STUNNING views! This is the perfect spot to stay if you are visiting Milford Sounds to break up the drive. We probably spent too much time in the house because we loved it so much :). Would recommend Loch Vista to anyone and everyone! Nothing but high praise! Also, an amazing spot for star gazing!
Thanks Pam & Guy!

Room Tip: The front room offers the best views of the lake, but all rooms are large, clean and have en suite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanExpat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for staying at 'Loch Vista" it was awesome to see four friends travelling and enjoying NZ together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife came across this property by chance while making reservations for our honeymoon trip to NZ. I believe Loch Vista was the best accommodation we had during the trip. It is essentially a B&B but you get so much more. The house has 4 rooms with a large shared kitchen and living area. Our host, Pam seemed to be selective in accepting reservations so you can be assured to find yourself with pleasant company. The property overlooks the lake and the scenery and view from the property is spectacular. We were there during unfavorable weather conditions, but I would imagine it would be a great stay during warmer/drier months. While you will get more than your money's worth anyway for staying in this arrangement (and especially for not paying additional for fast WiFi), Pam's hospitality is what will be invaluable. She was super friendly, helped with booking us on the tours we wanted, made scrumptious fresh breakfast for us, and was warm enough to welcome us to her home (walking distance) and show us her farm and animals. It was rememberable stay and experience to say the least.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sms9z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you, we love that you enjoyed the farm animals and the scenery from their meadow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked via their website. Stayed in the Rata room. Arrived on a (relatively) cold and windy day. Pam the host welcomed us and gave us information on the must-sees on the Milford highway. The bed and sheet was so comfortable that we did not want to get out of it the next day. We was treated with Pam's homemade banana and chocolate muffin the 2nd day during breakfast which was so delicious. Before we go we were invited to visit the baby cows that pam kept - they were just cute!! The stay was not cheap but is recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam T, Owner at Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for the traveler photos and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation

Address: 454 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £339 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fiordland and Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation. We are located on a small, rural property on the way to Milford Sound, just 5 km from Te Anau. Loch Vista overlooks Lake Te Anau and the Murchison Mountains and offers stunning panoramic views. You can relax in comfort and enjoy the ever changing scenery and starry night skies. Our family home is located within walking distance from Loch Vista and we are available for tips on local activities. Pam and Guy Turnbull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing