We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the Rules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The park was the tidiest we encountered in over a month travelling by campervan throughout NZ. The new bathroom block was exceptionally appointed and such a pity not more attention had been paid to the angle of the showerheads and water pressure which made it impossible for a man to shower.
We encountered the same "customer service problems suffered by other reviewers. We transgressed the rules by not parking exactly as we should when filling up with water. The humourless site manger (?) appeared not to understand that as a customer I had paid money to use the site, not to be treated like a naughty schoolboy. Pity as this totally spoilt our good experience......Oh and one more thing: this is the only holiday park where there is a sign on the washroom door that you are being watched by CCTV. Be Aware !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
We are pleased that you find our holiday park is among the best. Regarding the shower heads, a lot of details were put into the design of this based of Qualmark NZ's recommendations and we have fitted the eco-friendly shower heads. Hundreds of people have used the shower blocks without at issues at all. We also have another shower block with adjustable shower heads which might have been more suitable for you.
We understand that you are customer and have paid for a given site, however you have chosen to go on to someone else's site and this could cause problem from time to time.
A lot of holiday parks in NZ, including Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park have security camera around the park. This security feature is for our and your own safety and security. There are notices around the holiday park informing guests that security cameras are operating in the area and certainly not in the amenities block as you are implying.
Once again thanks for your input and we hope you have a good holiday in NZ..
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Terrible mangement! The guy at reception was rude and seemed unable to understand what a booking was. The park itself was quite nice though. We had a standard cabin. We bought our own linen, but no blankets. Some cabins had a mini fridge but not ours. The worst part was that we had to leave early to go on a tour, but there is a boom gate to get out of the park that was locked. We had no card to get out and the guy at reception had told us nothing about this. We would have missed our tour if someone else staying there hadn't turned up with a card to open the gate. Terrible service!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
We apologise if you found our staff to be terrible and we thank you for finding our park nice. Our holiday park has a wide range of accommodations to suit everyone's budget, ranging from park motels to standard cabins to tent sites. You have booked a standard cabin with us and it does not come with sheets or blankets. This is very well-advertise on our website and all other booking sites. The cabins with a fridge and a tv that you are refering to is a deluxe cabin which cost more per night.
Every guest is told about the security gate upon check in and is given the option to have the gate pass to get in and out when the gate is shut. We have traced back your registration card and found that you have declined to have a gate pass. There is a telephone number on the gate to contact manager on emergencies like this but we have received no phone call. Once again, we apologise for your misunderstanding of the gate pass option.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Te family loved it here, 3 kids aged from 18 to 8. Had a kids park , friendly service, accommodation was excellent and only 2 minutes drive from town and a trout river. Spacious and we equipped, highly recommended! Email enquiries and communication before we booked and afterwards were excellent.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in NZ. Thank you.
Fiordland Grest Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Great location on the way to Milford Sound, beat the rush by 20 minutes! Our tent site was about $30, in a secluded spot behind a hedgerow; a nice change from pitching the tent in a field. And when I went for a shower i thought I'd stumbled into the lobby of a hotel. Elegant stonework and chrome everywhere, a Norah Jones CD playing, and a big screen tv with local scenery. My only 2 complaints were the weak shower heads and the fact that the TV in the TV lounge wasn't near as nice as the one in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miken32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you found out holiday park nice and you are also please that you aprreciated our up-market amenities.
The shower heads are the latest eco-friendly shower heads approved by Qualmark. We appreciate your comment about the TV in the lounge and it will be up-graded at the next upgrade schedule. Once again we thank you for staying with us.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

After reading some of the other reviews, we didn't have very high expectations. However, our experience was fantastic. Friendly welcome on arrival, and everything you could think of was included in the Unit. We stayed in a tourist flat, which was confortable, spacious, clean and modern, and the bathroom was one of the best we experienced on our travels. All the little extras were there, and the bonus of a large covered patio was an unexpected surprise (and a bonus as we experience heavy rain throughout our stay). The location was quiet, and secured overnight with key card boom gates. The distance from town was only a few minutes by car. Checking out was just as pleasant, with added advice for our journey. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you again sometimes in the future.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Delighted to find private tent sites surrounded by hedges, large and clean kitchen, new amenities block. Transfer to Kepler Track and safe minding of car while we trekked a real bonus. Peaceful, great views across lake to mountains, amazing roses around property, short drive to town.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is our pleasure to be of assistance to you getting you to the Kepler Track. We are pleased that you have a delightful stay.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I would like to give a bouquet to the Fiordland Great Views Holiday Camp in Te Anau. Not only were the facilities better than any others we stayed at, but the cost was more reasonable as well. The camp was clean and the managers most friendly and helpful. We travelled for 21 days in a motorhome and stayed at several holiday camps in the course of our trip
.

Thank Romoltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well in the future.
Fiordland Great View Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#6 of 22 in Te Anau
282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Address: Milford Road RD1, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing