We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE MANAGEMENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here Mar 12 as a quiet stop over on way to Milford Sound, which was about another 2 hours away.

We arrived about 9pm and was greeted by a very rude female manager. Walking around the park at night there is poor lighting and they have these stupid cement divides for each car park, very easy to trip or scrape your wheels. We also had bed bugs in the room, which came with a small heater and bar fridge.

The only positive part was the amazing showers/toilets - on par with 5 star hotel, really have no idea how this came about seeing the rest of the park was not that good.

Room Tip: Watch out you don't get bed bugs!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyAwayOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Our holiday park is rated 4 star plus by Qualmark with sufficient lighting for a holiday park.
The car parking spaces are the standard parking space size in NZ. Any driver with good driving skills will have no problem negotiating the parking space. We totally understand your frustration about your parking skills.
Thank you for liking our amenities block which is rated 5-star facilitiy by Qualmark. The rest of the facilities are rated 4-star plus.
Your statement about bedbug is definitely not true. It could have been a mosquito or two, or even sandfly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Best things about this holiday park:
1) Secluded. Not that Te Anau is a busy city, but it was nice to be amoung nature and hear the birds sing in the morning.
2) We had the run of the place. We had a great paved spot for our campervan.
3) Our kids loved the playground. Slack line for balancing and a trampoline for jumping.
4) Value for money. Slightly cheaper than other holiday parks.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank pikapp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

HI there,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great views - well there were a few spots where you could see a view, the rest of the park is partitioned off with tall hedges. Upon asking for a pitch with a view we were informed that this would cost extra. So far the park is not living up to it's name.

Echoing so many of the other reviews, we had the displeasure of what was the most unfriendly welcome of our entire month traveling around New Zealand. The manager is rude and unhelpful, everything is 'a problem' and his manner condescending. We couldn't wait to get away in the morning.

The site itself and facilities were fine, but that's pretty much to be expected in NZ. What makes the difference is how you are treated. At the campsite we stayed the night before they have a large sign behind reception : 'You are not our customers, you are our guests' - at Great Views they could learn a thing or two from this. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Hi there
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Regarding a site with a view, you were offered one but rudely declined it when you were told that it would cost more than the regular site.
We are sorry if you found our manager unpleasant. But upon your check in, he was just behaving the same way you behaved. We can recall that you were rude, arrogant and very aggressive upon check in.
We have dealt with thousands of people staying at our holiday park each year. In general, most are very satisfied with out service and we have regular repeat guests every summer for over 25 years.
Thank you and we hope you have enjoyed NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The worst place we have ever stayed at. Manager not very friendly or helpful.
We were booked on their Milford Sound Tour two months prior and had confirmation from them by email.
When we got there found out that the tour was not happening and the Manager had booked us on a more expensive tour and to be at the gate at 8.20am. We went to the gate at 8am and at 8.20am the bus drove right past us. Great so we go back to the office to find out what is happening and what a rude person you would of thought it was our stuff up.
We could not wait to leave the place which ended up been a problem as well. When we arrived we were asked if we needed a card to get in after 9pm and we said No never were we asked if we needed a card to get out before 8am.The Manager will argue with this to you. You can ring the number and he will still not help you he refused to open the gate at 7.30 in the morning and we would have to wait until 8am.As we work in the Tourism industry we found this the worst place we have ever been too.it is quite clear to see the Manager needs to take a holiday or if you don't get along with all sorts and races of people you should not be working in the industry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alofi583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We have arranged a discussion with the staff member concern and from his side of the story, you were rude, abrupt and demanding during check in. You were very impatient during check in and did not bother to wait for the staff member to finish conveying the useful and important information about the holiday park to you.
Regarding your Milford Sound tour, we acknowledge that you have made enquiries with us. But you made no further commitment to book and pay for the tour prior to your arrival.
We truly understand your frustration about the security gate. But as we have said before, you were very impatient during check in and did not bother to wait for the staff member to convey this information to you. Should you have waited for the staff member to finish conveying all information to you, we believe this will not happen to you. Nevertheless the information sheet you were given during check in and also the compendium in your room contain this information as well.
Once again, we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The park was the tidiest we encountered in over a month travelling by campervan throughout NZ. The new bathroom block was exceptionally appointed and such a pity not more attention had been paid to the angle of the showerheads and water pressure which made it impossible for a man to shower.
We encountered the same "customer service problems suffered by other reviewers. We transgressed the rules by not parking exactly as we should when filling up with water. The humourless site manger (?) appeared not to understand that as a customer I had paid money to use the site, not to be treated like a naughty schoolboy. Pity as this totally spoilt our good experience......Oh and one more thing: this is the only holiday park where there is a sign on the washroom door that you are being watched by CCTV. Be Aware !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
We are pleased that you find our holiday park is among the best. Regarding the shower heads, a lot of details were put into the design of this based of Qualmark NZ's recommendations and we have fitted the eco-friendly shower heads. Hundreds of people have used the shower blocks without at issues at all. We also have another shower block with adjustable shower heads which might have been more suitable for you.
We understand that you are customer and have paid for a given site, however you have chosen to go on to someone else's site and this could cause problem from time to time.
A lot of holiday parks in NZ, including Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park have security camera around the park. This security feature is for our and your own safety and security. There are notices around the holiday park informing guests that security cameras are operating in the area and certainly not in the amenities block as you are implying.
Once again thanks for your input and we hope you have a good holiday in NZ..
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Terrible mangement! The guy at reception was rude and seemed unable to understand what a booking was. The park itself was quite nice though. We had a standard cabin. We bought our own linen, but no blankets. Some cabins had a mini fridge but not ours. The worst part was that we had to leave early to go on a tour, but there is a boom gate to get out of the park that was locked. We had no card to get out and the guy at reception had told us nothing about this. We would have missed our tour if someone else staying there hadn't turned up with a card to open the gate. Terrible service!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
We apologise if you found our staff to be terrible and we thank you for finding our park nice. Our holiday park has a wide range of accommodations to suit everyone's budget, ranging from park motels to standard cabins to tent sites. You have booked a standard cabin with us and it does not come with sheets or blankets. This is very well-advertise on our website and all other booking sites. The cabins with a fridge and a tv that you are refering to is a deluxe cabin which cost more per night.
Every guest is told about the security gate upon check in and is given the option to have the gate pass to get in and out when the gate is shut. We have traced back your registration card and found that you have declined to have a gate pass. There is a telephone number on the gate to contact manager on emergencies like this but we have received no phone call. Once again, we apologise for your misunderstanding of the gate pass option.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Te family loved it here, 3 kids aged from 18 to 8. Had a kids park , friendly service, accommodation was excellent and only 2 minutes drive from town and a trout river. Spacious and we equipped, highly recommended! Email enquiries and communication before we booked and afterwards were excellent.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in NZ. Thank you.
Fiordland Grest Views Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Address: Milford Road RD1, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £39 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing