We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome holiday park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great tidy holiday park with lovely grounds and very modern amenities. All the facilities you could ask for and a great location as a go between Milford sound etc. Friendly, helpful owners and a nice, peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay, safe travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    14
    15
    14
See reviews for
22
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We camped here for 2 nights and it was such a lovely site! So clean and spotless everywhere with fab pitches! The shower room was the best I have ever experienced at a campsite! Good location for a day trip to Milford sound too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Many thanks for your review, enojoy the rest of your holiday down south also
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the park we were met by the owner who was grumpy and not very helpful. He have us a map of the area and told us which number which was as far as his communication went.
The kitchen was very basic with 2 oven and hobs (afew of which didn't work that well). There were utensils for use but everything else you had to rent or put a deposit down to use. $30 deposit on some things!! And there was no hot water in the kitchen for washing up whilst we stayed.
The BBQ was available but at a charge of $2 for 30 mins and $5 for 1 hour, which makes no sense at all.
The actual campsite areas are good and fairly private but are quite close to each other. The site was clean and tidy. There were plenty of bins available for rubbish and an outside tap.
The new bathroom facilities were nice, great hot shower and hairdryers available (in the ladies).

The main concern we had was that you were actually locked in the site by an electric gate. So you have 10mins to leave at 10am and then the gate is locked.

There was also no views of the lake! And you have to pay an additional amount to use the spa.
This place makes the most of taking tourists money and providing a very poor service. Judging by the other reviews on this place, we weren't the only ones to think the service was poor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KHughes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for your review, you are given a map and can choose your own site if you wish or we can allocate one to you otherwise, mens facilities also have hairdryers to use, please enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The surrounds are very pretty and the 'motel' rooms are clean and adequately equipped. A few gripes on value though, recognising that this may have much to do with Te Anau in high season and a pretty competitive accommodation environment. Compared to the rest of NZ (including Queenstown) we paid 4-star motel/hotel rates - but without the accompanying service. It was more like an Australian-style cabin than motel room. There was no milk on arrival, and tea/coffee/shampoo etc weren't replenished. Many signs around the room threatening additional charges (eg $50 if you didn't wash up). There were no views from our room (although there are from some others), and our room was next to the main road to Milford Sound, so we were awoken pretty early by the tourist buses. It's not an easy walking distance to town. It was perfectly fine for a couple of nights, owner/manager was friendly, but we'd look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a room with views and not right next to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, safe journeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We are an israeli couple on our vacation in NZ. We called to book for one night at double room and asked about the price.
The women said 55$.
So we booked on the phone.
Then we came to the place.
The women at the reception act realy mean to us, i dont know why, maybe its because we are from Israel.
Later when we got the room we saw that we dont have blankets and sheets, so we caled the reception and told them. she said that it will coast us 10$ for blanket.
So we asked her why she didnt told us before when we did the booking,that the room doesnt contained sheets and blankets, and her answer was:"you should read it in our website if you like", and another some decry answer.
Me and my girlfriend felt so unrespectable. I dont know how people that runing a campsite can act so rude to the campers.
After all there is alot of campsite in Te Anau, look for some other place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hello folks, thanks for writing a review, we have had some terrific people in from Israel staying here, I actually gave you a bedding package at no cost which you happily accepted when here as you had no bedding, so am a bit perplexed by your attitude about it as you were glad have it given to you for free!!, but never mind, please enjoy your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A huge thanks to the hosts for a super clean, warm and convenient holiday park. Our little cabin seemed virtually new, and for $55 per night we wanted for nothing. I appreciate the sheer amount of care this large site gets! Other reviewers possibly also demand that a Happy Meal guarantees happiness or that rothmans makes you an International Man of Pleasure.

Milford Sound was 1.75 hours away including 20 minutes behind a slower truck.

We will be back! And many thanks for looking for our lost keys and sending on the cutlery - we later found the keys!!

Room Tip: Our little one-room cabin was the cheapest. No fridge, tv. A walk to the communal kitchen fridges ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldneySaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Came to camp here in a hurry to fit in the Milford sounds before travelling on and showed up and the man (assuming part owner) asks if I had a dog and I said "yes, we made prior arrangements weeks ago, and you said it was fine". Turns out it wasn't fine and I was in a scramble to find a new place that accepted dogs. Not very friendly staff, woman at front desk was very short and snappy and not very accommodating. Choose Aden Motel for the best service and very friendly people!! (very dog friendly)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elddis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfiordland, Owner at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks for your review, we are pet friendly except over the peak holiday times, as we have had no notification from you with your booking that you were travelling with a dog, we helped you on arrival by putting you in contact with the local Dog Kennels in Te Anau (which you did contact later) thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Property: Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Address: Milford Road RD1, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing