We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home style accomodation and hospitality”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Roma, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home style accomodation and hospitality”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Can't thank our hosts enough for our time at Birchwood cottages, the rooms were well laid out and very spacious! But the nicest touch was walking into the room with a roaring fire already prepared by our hosts! Excellent service and will definitely return.

Room Tip: 3 Bedroom Unit is the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your apprecaition of the fire going to keep you warm and cosy. It is great to see that the work involved in providing firewood for the 3 bedroom places is rewarded by the nice comments you have made about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    39
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Lovely fireplace, very cosy to sit around on a cold evening. Place had washing machine which was great. Very friendly staff and great location close to town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Once again our enclosed log fires seem to be a big hit with people. We note it was just a taste and you would like to stay here again. There are so many things to do here you should turn a taste in to a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here with our two young children, it was just perfect. The fire had been lit prior to our arrival so the cottage was warm and cosy when we got there - a lovely touch. Our toddler enjoyed the garden play equipment - parental supervision was required at all times due to the properties being on a main road without a gate. It had everything we needed, and I loved the living area being separate from the kitchen and dining - a real little home away from home! Pros were the facilities, the cosy feel of it, the log fire (a fire guard was provided so the little ones didn't burn their hands), and the friendly hosts. Only two negatives were the soft mattress and the low pressure shower. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the warmth of the fire and the hosts/reception. Most people comment on the comfortable beds. The mattress on one bed is a bit softer than the other but it is 'hard' to get it right for everybody. The shower comment is a new one for us. The shower is connected to the main town supply and has good pressure.
So far as the playground being close to the road, our playground is 60 meters away from the main road and the 3 bedroom place is 80 meters away from the main road down a private driveway making it especially safe for small children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Warm, pleasant accommodation, with very friendly helpful hosts. Our arrival was delayed a day due to our flight being cancelled, and Leonie and Ray were very helpful. When we finally arrived the fire was going. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for review of our three bedroom place. We actually had the fire going for two days because of your delay on arriving. Because of your bad luck with a flight cancellation, we did not charge you the first night
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault these cottages. A home away from home. Best shower I had in all of NZ! Great bed as well. I felt so warm and comfy. I cannot fault cottage 1. Great heating, great amenities and loved having the bbq on the porch. Thank you and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderWoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your brief and wonderful review. You have certainly covered the most important parts of our accommodation in a very positive manner. We always look forward to the return of appreciative people such as yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were travelling in a group of six and spent the night in Te Anau before we went to Milford Sound the next day. The price for the night was very reasonable and affordable, not forgetting to mention even though we only stayed for a night they do discount if you're staying for 2 nights. Not too long after I booked the cottage from booking.com i got an email from Ray and Leonie confirming the booking which was very nice. On arrival we were welcomed by Leonie and Ray, the place was very tidy, clean and more than enough space for 6 person to stay. The kitchen and bathroom was well equipped. Loved the swing chair and mushrooms outside the cottage. And also the fireplace. Loved the stars at night too! So many of them in complete darkness. They also let us leave our luggage at the cottage after we checked out so that we can pick it up after our Milford Sound trip which was very nice of them (the car would have been too heavy otherwise). Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charon234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our accommodation and services provided. We appreciate the time you put aside to enter a review, even though you only stayed for one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Not the most modern accomodation we had in south nz. However everything was made up by a cosy fireplace and very warm host Leonie & Ray. The place is very clean. Leonie made sure we had everything we need, even a metal barrier to the fireplace as we had a active boy in the house. We did the Milford sound tour with Ray and it's highly recommended. Got a discount on both the accomodation & tour. The Milford trip is in a small tour group, 11 of us. We stop at a few places before reaching milford cruise base. Sadly, it was raining so we did not spend much time stepping out from the bus. My boy received a possum soft toy gift and i received a lanolin hand cream from Ray. How sweet is that! Leonie was thoughtful to lit up the fireplace so we could come home to a warm place after the Milford Sound. Thank you Ray & Leonie.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that you have appreciated the attention to detail as offered for both the accommodation and the Milford Sound tour. We are pleased that the "not so modern" entry was well and truely made up for by our hospitality, service and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Property: Birchwood Cottages
Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing